Arrived in Ireland


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
September 3rd 2005
Published: September 3rd 2005
Edit Blog Post

Late Afternoon Sun in BallybunionLate Afternoon Sun in BallybunionLate Afternoon Sun in Ballybunion

It was a fantastic way to end my first day in Ireland. Relaxing above the beach and watching the sunset over the Atlantic Ocean.
Friday 2nd September:

Early start to catch the 850am flight from London Standsted to Ireland. The weather on arrival in Ireland was spectacular and I couldn't have asked for a nicer day.

I'm currently staying in a town called Ballybunion in County Kerry, nestled on the Atlantic coast and probably most famous for its golf course, often rated in the top ten courses in the world. Amazingly Ballybunion golf course gets almost as many visitors per year as St Andrews in Scotland,

I managed to catch a glimpse of the late afternoon sun behind what's known as the Castle Green, the remains of a castle built by the Gearldines in the middle of the 14th century. The castle sits atop a headland dividing what used to be known as the men's and ladies strands (beaches).

Amazingly there were a number of people swimming in the ocean. As nice as the weather was yesterday, its too cold for me to consider jumping in!

Ballybunion is also famous for its seaweed baths and I am tempted to take one at some stage. They are apparently very good for you. I will report back on that later!

Unfortunately for tourists, Ireland is very expensive and quite possibly the most expensive country in Europe. Wages appear to be ridiculously high but they need to be to keep up with the cost of consumer products and services.

Anyhow, must sign off now, I think I'll head down to my cousin's pub JD's for a pint or two. Fortunately a pint of Guinness is probably the most affordable thing in the country!






Advertisement



Tot: 0.291s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0884s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb