Day 2 of many....


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
January 15th 2007
Published: January 15th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Window view...Window view...Window view...

This was what I woke up to today...apparently, not a very common sight.
Woke up at a decent time today and it was sunny again. Huzzah! Green fields and blue skies. In the daylight, I see that i'm across the street from a nice little park and the leisure centre where you can swim or work out, not my idea of leisure 😉 I'm also across the street from a huge church-like structure which i think is the town hall. I also have a fairly major road in front of me so seeing a mini-semi is not unusual.

I wandered across the bridge over the Blackwater river and perused some shops. A few stores were open but nothing spectacular...just the usual stuff but in euros. Pretty pricey stuff!

Gaby (my roomie) was up later and we went for a walk and she showed me some good places to get food, the library, and the local police station because I have to register with them, pay 100 euros and get an immigration card.

Supermarkets are very very different here...much smaller and even though they have the same products, they're always slightly tweaked so that I have to stand in front of the detergent section looking like an ID10T. Oh well...it's an adventure!
Park Park Park

Here's the park across the street! Green! Lushious! Fantastic!
We drove into the next town (Mitchelstown) where they have a Tesco.

I have a very very nice roomate and things are going muuuuch better this time around. I'm feeling alright, folks.

Advertisement



15th January 2007

YAY!
So happy that you started blogging - I'll be checking it all the time because I'm a blog fanatic. The park across the street looks beautiful. Stupid question on my part but - is it not winter there right now? Because as you said it's very green and luscious from your pictures. Sorry if this is a totally stupid inquiry. Anyways, love and miss ya - keep blogging about your adventures. n:)
15th January 2007

new home
So, you've got your own place? You're not living with the prof? It really looks lovely. That park looks like a great place to go for a walk in. Yay for you! Boo on the $100 card. xoxo
15th January 2007

It looks beautiful Vivian!
15th January 2007

Wow
Looks amazing Viv!! You are so lucky and you already have made friends, gotten out and about....I'm so proud of you. I knew youd be ok! Have a fantastic time, it goes so fast so treasure every moment. You'll miss it later. Good luck on your new job too...how was first day? Great idea with the blog, love it! Talk to you soon
16th January 2007

Your Irish!
Nope, not you are Irish, but you're already soundin' Irish! Don't forget about Canada 'eh, and don't eat too many potatoes (or over indulge at the pub)!

Tot: 0.055s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0305s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb