Kinsale and The Blarney!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
June 18th 2005
Published: June 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

It is such a pain to have to update the journal for more then one day past. I tend to forget so much since we have done a hell of a lot. I am hoping I am getting some of the better comments and quotables down at least. Today we all kissed that F’n stone. I am so proud of both my mom and brother who have a fear of heights, my mom more so. Let us start from the beginning. This morning we woke up and ate a yummy breakfast cooked by the crazy lady. Eggs and Bacon. Now this is not like the bacon we have at home it’s more like a strip of ham but still good. They had tea and oj and toast and everything you could possibly want to sink your teeth into for breakfast. We had a very nice chat with the couple who was checking in last night. The lady didn’t get back to check them in for over 2 hours. Then we got ready to make our move to the stone. Before we did that though my mom wanted to make a trip to the head of kinsale. Even though dad whined about the roads and grunted and panicked a bit (he was ripe with the BO by the time we got there). I think he was glad we went. IT was a beautiful view with the ocean slamming against the cliffs and the fog rolling in since it rained last night and was still moist and foggy this morning. We were soaked though from climbing through the grass. We head to the stone all the while dad telling my mom these were by far the worst roads mom had ever gotten him on and he really was right. I was surprised they were even paved they were so country and off the beaten path. We ran into our first herd of crossing cows and laughed especially when one moo’d VERY loudly when dad passed her, I think she knew my daddy was going to eat her at some point. Then we finally got to the stone after some more help from the natives. (hey we made it much closer to anything else we were only 2 blocks off better then left left left and another left directions in Dublin from a poor confused man even the locals cant navigate Dublin). The park is amazing there are “wishing stairs” and druids cave and of course the stupid rock you kiss. The climb is a tough one up well worn stone stairs that you almost feel are so worn that your going to slip off of them when you step down. But we made it and my mom was fine until we got to the top. Then she couldn’t get low enough to the ground or close enough to the wall. This gave us a VERY good chuckle. But she kissed the stone. The guy who held her legs was very sweet. We got pictures. It was really neat hanging off there kissing that stone. Then we made our trip down and explored the grounds. Very well maintained. The water here is freezing I checked with my hand. We saw a cute golden retriever who was soaked to the bone trying to get food running into the river getting wet and trying to get food. Very friendly doggy. I have actually seen a lot of dogs just roaming around here. Then we went into Cork. That was a mistake tempers were running high so we quit that while we were ahead. Came back here and Pat found a Stapleton Crest key chain for dad and I found the Stapleton Cake. We then ate at this Pub Tom Edwards which we thought was tommy apples from the way the locals brogue made it sound. Now we are here typing away. Planning on our trip to kilorglin tomorrow. Excitement!

Advertisement



19th June 2005

STONE
I GIVE YOUR MOM CREDIT I WOULDN'T EVEN GO UP THE CASTLE MY HUSBAND DID AND KISSED THE STONE BUT TOO SCARY FOR ME

Tot: 0.038s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb