Dublin --> Kinsale


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
June 17th 2005
Published: June 18th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Today was our trip to Kinsale. We are finally leaving the confusing confines of Dublin for what we hope is a much more country and easier to navigate city. The roads will be tough since most of them around here are very small two lane roads. Most of you who know me by sight know I am a short person; I can lay in the road and stretch my arms out to the other side. This is what they consider big enough for two-lane traffic. There is NO shoulder. We have driven many times against the shrubs on the side of the road. I can pick a foxtail flower if I wish from the moving car with out unbuckling myself. Speaking of a couple of things its funny to listen to the manner of speech they sometimes when talking about their children especially will refer to them as herself and himself. Another thing is the pure amount of flowers in a country, which in the summer does not reach above 65 most times. The country is truly beautiful I cannot stress that enough. I promise when I find a computer I can upload pictures to I will. I still feel that they do not do this countries beauty justice though. So we set off from Dublin in hopes of finding Kilmainham Gaol. There was no luck so we continued on the road needed to head to Kinsale. The scenery is very comforting and often most times breathtaking. Around every corner seems to be more picturesque scenery to taker pictures of. Sadly, I have already filled one photo card and of course there is the situation of trying to take a picture through all the shrubbery is often times most difficult and source of great amusement for my brother, who has recently found out no one in our family listens to him what so ever. HE will say something like you have about 20 euros of change in your hand and mom will say she has about 20 euros of change in her hand completely oblivious to the fact my brother just said that. Now it’s not just my mom doing it. It’s all of us. There have been quiet a few of these types of inside jokes my family and I will be able to share when all this is sad and done. It is kind of nice to be close to your family, its so rare now. One thing I have noticed about everyone here is how well travelled they are compared to Americans. Makes me feel very ethnocentric almost even though I do not share the extreme America is the greatest sentiment that many of my father’s generation does. Plus I also plan to have the European mentality and travel as often as I can. Anyhow back to the day. WE make a stop at the Rock of Cashel, which is a very well persevered castle/religious centre (it was a castle built on a rock, which was then turned over to the church St. Patrick visited there to baptize the king its also known as St. Patrick’s Rock). We listened to the tour that was like the others very well informed and interesting. This site actually had a fully restored room done in the fashion of the time. Then we hopped back on the road to try to find our Bed and Breakfast, or like every seemed to be saying that night Bread and bekfast since I think we were all tired by then and ready for a couppla pints (as the locals say). We found Kinsale just fine; it was finding our b&b that was proving to be most difficult. My dad was tired of driving and so were we. The directions she put were wiggle down the road and make a right at the hill…. There are like 15 different freaking hills! And there is roadwork and one ways and all type of crazy crap, plus this is an old medieval city WHO THE FUCK WAS THINKING ABOUT MAKING RAODS BIG ENOUGH FOR CARS BACK THEN. No one that’s who. Streets barely big enough for one car have two way traffic AND people parking on them. It was interesting. We finally made it. But our host seems as my brother says, “the wheels are turning but the hamster is dead”. We couldn’t figure out how to check into the B&B (called the lighthouse which by the way is no where near the water)so we kind f chilled out for a bit finally I found a bell and rang it she came but it looked like we woke her up. She did her thing and we went to eat at Blue Haven. Very good food again but the service was terrible. We had 4 different waiters and waitresses and some barely spoke English. But they were really nice and we sat in our first snug. Then we went back for some sleep. Ran into this nice couple who were looking for the B&B lady to check them in, they tried the bell and everything we tried to help but no luck. Pat and I watched some tv and passed out.

Advertisement



19th June 2005

PUB
WHEN IN DUBLIN DID YOU GO TO THE SMALLEST TAVERN ONLY HOLD 3 PEOPLE AT A TIME OR TO THE HOUSE OF WAX , IS FUN TRINTY COLLEGE BOOK OF KELLS IS THERE AND I AM NOT SUR EOF THE SPELLING

Tot: 0.123s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0364s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb