Kinsale -->Kilorglin via Ring of Kerry


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
June 20th 2005
Published: June 20th 2005
Edit Blog Post

So, shortly after I finished typing up the last entry I was going to leave the room to go pay with my brother. I was following someone out and didn’t even think about the step that was there. Now I tried to keep my clumsiness a secret from the Irish. Hoping and praying that only the US would truly know the depths of it but it was all for naught. I twisted my ankle and fell face first on the stone floor. Scraped up my hand an knee and didn’t even have the too many pints for an excuse. Of course it was in front of a huge group of people (why is it when you do something EXTREMELY embarrassing there is ALWAYS a group to witness it)? I came up laughing hysterically because I was SO embarrassed. I mean like 20 thousand shades of red and giggling and shocked. I should have expected that. So I shook it off went to the pub and talked to some people from South Carolina. Then I came home and went to bed. Woke up to a beautiful morning. The view from our room had to be the best in the house. Went down for a yummy breakfast and as my dad was readying himself the rest of the family got into a talk with our hostess and a couple from the UK. From everything to politics, to Irish history for then north/Irish conflict and it NOT being a religious problem to new teaching styles. Our Hostess was extremely interesting. She does 2 months worth of humanitarian work during the winter in India and Afghanistan or anywhere she can. It was an extremely animated conversation and I felt more in touch with the world and problems everywhere then we are. Europeans in general are much more worldly then we are. This has been a truly eye opening experience and it makes me want to travel more and be less “typical American” and more aware of what is around me. I guess be a part of the bigger picture. We then headed off. The plan was to do the Ring of Kerry. It is basically a ring around a peninsula here on the west coast. It was some of the best scenery I have EVER seen. Mountains and valleys and rivers and ocean. Fantastic. Of course there was the obligatory mom and dad arguments about missing signs and scary roads and him yelling about WHY we had to do this counter clockwise against the tour buses. But I think once he realized the scenery was on our side he calmed down. I stuck my feet in the ocean!!!! WE all did really but it is FREAKING FREEZING! I mean colder then at home. We stopped and took a bunch of pictures. We finally ended up at our destination of Kilorglin only to find the rental we had reserved had no one around what so ever. No one renting, no one tending to the reception area nothing. So we decided we weren’t staying there when no one answered the 3 times we called the phone number. We found I think what will be the best bed and breakfast we will stay at. It is fantastic and the hostess is the sweetest person ever. She thinks my dad looks like a comedian from Dublin. Hehe. We ate dinner at this place called Dev’s and it was fantastic. Then we walked around the city played with a dog next door who was the sweetest thing in the world and explored around the bridge near us. Which is not a road or a railway bridge. That was pretty fun. Finally headed back to the place and feel asleep.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.076s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 7; qc: 22; dbt: 0.0592s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb