Starting the Ring Of Kerry and beyond


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland
June 20th 2023
Published: June 24th 2023
Edit Blog Post

View from the Mountain StageView from the Mountain StageView from the Mountain Stage

If you can expand the photo to see in full
We set off this morning and for about half an hour went round in circles because none of the roads had numbers or where they were going to which was really annoying - however, I got us back on track. We finally made our way to Inch Strand which is a massive beach and some cars and one motorhome were parked on the sands - I said to Mike, I do not think this would be a wise move to park on the sands but once again the car park had a height barrier so we could not park up.

So we decided the best thing would be to carry on. We have had all weathers today apart from snow - it has rained then poured down then sunshine and this has happened over and over again, but now we are in the sun so cannot complain.

The Ring of Kerry is a mountain stage with some very narrow roads and a number of extremely tight corners. I clocked this early on and was thinking oh no not again, however, it was not too bad at all if totally honest and the views again were to die for, so we stopped for a bit.

Then we stopped for a bite of lunch and have parked up in another campsite. This one is called Mallix Point (it is a bit pricey if totally honest) in Cahersiveen - we decided only to stay here as it had great reviews of Doulus Bay and we could also have a bay view pitch for the night. Tomorrow we are going to do the rest of the Ring of Kerry and if you do the Ring of Kerry here is a little tip for you, do it anti clockwise and I know this because Kathleen who is a fellow Samaritan and who is Irish confirmed this for me. The reason you do the Ring of Kerry anti clockwise is you follow the coaches. I can tell you one thing I would not like to be in a motorhome meeting a coach/es head on on some of these roads let me tell you passing small cars can be fraughtful enough.

I will need to book an appointment for the hairdresser when I get back from Ireland as I can tell you even my eyebrows have gone grey!!!!!!!!!!

We take a walk into the Cahersiveen town centre to stretch the legs and see a magnificent church with a mural regarding Monsignor Hugh O’Flaherty which makes me want to know more about this gentleman. Well it appears he was an Irish Catholic priest and also a senior member of the Roman Curia. During WW11 he was responsible for saving over 6,500 allied soldeirs and Jews - his nickname was “The Scarlet Pimpernel of the Vatican” and he was also awarded the CBE. Now if we had not walked back into town I would never have known that snippet of information.



Cahesiveen seems a really proud town of its towns folk and in particular a young man called Ryan Griffen who represented Ireland in the Special Olympics. He won silver in the 100 metres. The thing is there are posters and banners up everywhere cheering him on. This is a really nice touch I think.

So we have completed Kerry Cliffs which you park and then walk up quite steep paths to get the best views.. There was one bit where they have put a concrete path to the edge and this gave me the hebie jeebies as the concrete had
Kerry CliffsKerry CliffsKerry Cliffs

Wow of Wow
got a crack in it. Now to me if concrete has a massive crack that means there is movement and I am no expert in this but no way was I going to walk to the edge passing over the concrete crack - Mike did but before I let him I said where are your personal insurance papers as if anything happens I need to know this immediately.

I am confused though as coaches could not go on the road to the Kerry Cliffs so all the people who take tours won’t be able to see these and they are amazing - it feels like they are being short changed. Also, it is such a shame that we were not there when the puffins are there. I would imagine that would be absolutely amazing but hey ho you cannot have everything - well to be honest I feel like I have a bloody lot and feel very privileged.



We then started on the Ring of Kerry road again and there was another bit where we drove that coaches could not use. Thank goodness as they were really tight with a lot of hairpin bends and I
Mizen Head BridgeMizen Head BridgeMizen Head Bridge

Walking over Air
mean hairpin bends. I even said to Mike thank you for getting me round those bends. I honestly thought when we were going up and round hairpin bends that we will never do it but going down and hitting one was even worse - all I could think of was please god let’s not meet another Motorhome or campervan on this bend - anyway as soon as we were down I had to have a coffee - now if you know me I don’t really like coffee but I tell you what I needed a macchiato (double espresso) and as much caffeine as possible in one hit.



Next day we decide to carry on following the Wild Atlantic Way and do the Ring of Beara which once again was bleeding tight in some places but once again some amazing sights. Now let me let you into a secret. I went to Berlin with Sue to meet up with Helen who comes from Hannover and Kate from Berlin, both of whom we met on a Star Clipper cruise which is a tall ship. Now any of you who knows Mike, he can have a hot head maybe because
Kate, Sue, Anne & SueKate, Sue, Anne & SueKate, Sue, Anne & Sue

The rascals!!!!
he had red hair when he was younger. So the girls and I hatched a plan in Berlinthat when Kate came over she would come over to our house and ring our door bell which rings anywhere in the world that we are and say where are you as you invited me for coffee - we then wanted to see Mike’s reaction as he really hates me not putting stuff in the diary or even looking to see if I am available - so Berlin plan hatched - however, number 1 we did not think that the doorbell battery would be dead, number 2 I would not be stationery and not have a phone signal so this magnificent plan went AWOL and backfired a bit but not totally as the girls sent a photo of them at my front door. You will probably be asking why would they bring a squid, well that is another story that you probably would not want to hear. Suffice to say it is a story from onboard Star Clippers where we laughed so much at dinner one evening we upset a number of other passengers!!



So it’s the next leg down
SquidgateSquidgateSquidgate

I know I am laughing at my own jokes its a squid on a gate
to Mizen Head now. I have done research like I always do and know that I have to cross a bridge between two islands walking over thin air and 45 metres above the Atlantic. So when we wake up and it is misty I am thinking once again this could be my get out of jail card and also collect $200. But what do you know, as we are making our way there and I have hatched a plan where I will say to Mike this is silly we cannot see our hands in front of our faces, let’s miss this spur out and just continue straight on, the mist lifts and you can see as clearly as anything - so another plan gone up shit creek without a paddle - so I now have to walk over thin air. Mizen Head is amazing and if you ever have a chance to go there it is a total must even though you have to cross that damn bridge!! It appears my research is not that good as the bridge is not a suspension bridge but a solid construction bridge but I can still tell you it was not good walking over air but once again the Princess took the challenge and made it - yes King Charles, I think an OBE or something similar is in order here or I could always be knighted a lady but let’s be honest I think Princess trumps a lady so I will stick with Princess.



We are totally on the last leg now only one more day to go. We are staying in a hotel car park in Baltimore, Ireland not USA and then I am just thinking about my previous paragraph. Princesses don’t sleep in car parks, ha ha.



I can honestly say what an amazing time we have had in Ireland and not even finished yet but if you ever ever ever have the chance to do the Wild Atlantic Way you MUST. So until tomorrow’s blog, bye bye

Advertisement



Tot: 0.364s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 44; dbt: 0.1487s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb