A Sunday trip to the coast!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Waterford » Waterford
February 4th 2007
Published: February 7th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Well it was a busy-ish weekend! I went to Cork with some people from work and we went to a pub and then a club. I thought it was so crowded in both locations but apparently it wasn't that busy! Bars let out at 2am and everyone just piles into the streets and heads out to find chips and other greasy foods. I would compare it to the busy-ness in the streets you'd see in Edmonton at a festival. It's pretty busy and people just spill into the roads.

Saturday was spent with another food party...yummy! I made a spanakopita but there was no phyllo pastry or even frozen dough to be found anywhere in Fermoy! So I improvised and made a bread base and topping. It was tasty! We also had risotto, stuffed tomatos, stuffed mushrooms, and a chocolate lava cake...all from scratch. Delish.

Sunday was wonderful! A friend who is from the area took us to a nearby megalithic tomb. I didn't realize that it was a TOMB tomb until I read the sign which stated that they found some bones and pottery there. Yikes! Then we drove to the coast to (what I think is) the county of Waterford. Famous for Waterford crystal.

It was a gorgeous sunny sunny day (not typical for a winter in Ireland) and we walked on a beach and climbed some cliffs, walked a seawall, and saw a castle from a distance. Then we came back to our house and made dinner and watched a movie.

A very nice weekend indeed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Mossy sprouts...Mossy sprouts...
Mossy sprouts...

Taken with the close up function of my lovely digital camera (thanks guys!) near the castle in Lismore
Beach panoramaBeach panorama
Beach panorama

Gorgeous view all round...
Seaweed Seaweed
Seaweed

Lots of seaweed in Ireland...they make it into carrageenan!
Lighthouse and meLighthouse and me
Lighthouse and me

Picture and feet in pic courtesy of my roomie


7th February 2007

I only like my seaweed in maki!! ;-) I wanna come to one of your food parties. I have some delish recipes... xoxo
20th February 2007

Gorgeous!
Those are gorgeous pics Viv. I especially liked the rock with eyes. Oh the castle is nice too ;) Sounds like a wonderful weekend. Are the streets that busy every weekend? Glad to hear that you're doing well and have super company.
27th February 2007

Ireland, land of mystery!
O.K. you've ruined me, I totally need to see this country! The greasy food, pubs, beautiful countryside, it calls to me you see. :) Glad to hear you've made fast friends with people at work, certainly makes life easier. I regretably have no fun news to share, but will continue to live vicariously through your blog for now! Have a good one Viv, TTFN.
3rd March 2007

CALL ME YOU smELLy monKey. Lub Kim
7th March 2007

Goodness! I'd better call you!

Tot: 0.069s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0442s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb