Scenic drives and monastaries


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Waterford » Cappoquin
March 6th 2007
Published: March 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Sorry to have been absent with my updating...I had what i thought were issues with my camera and then with my internet connection, but those have been resolved now. It was my own darn fault. Silly me!

I've had a nice few weekends...I went on a nice trip in between the last post and this most recent trip but I have yet to get the photos. Will post that trip soon.

This weekend, I went on another road trip through the county of Tipperary. Went to the Mount Melleray Abbey in Cappoquin. It was a gorgeous church run by monks who have taken vows of silence. We wandered the grounds and went through the church. There were certain sections for the monks to sit and pray and there were a few people there taking it all in. You could really feel the silence in that room. Does that make any sense? Well, you really could. Even though there were probably ~10 people in there, the silence was the very first thing I noticed, even before the wooden carvings and the people. Very tangible.

Then we drove through the Vee Gap and saw, I think, the Knockmealdown Mountains and
It's me!  It's me!  It's me!

Yes, it's me. Was also taken by me. Sorry if it's a bit dark...
then from the view at the summit you can see the country side and the Galtee Mountains.

It was a very nice weekend trip. I am actively looking for a car so maybe there will be more to come! Yikes! I'm going to learn how to drive a standard!


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement

Windy day...Windy day...
Windy day...

It was a beautiful but very windy day. Will go hiking along the mountain and the trails next time. It was so windy my jacket literally acted like a sail and I thought I may blow away!
Panorama view at the top of the Vee GapPanorama view at the top of the Vee Gap
Panorama view at the top of the Vee Gap

...is prettier in real life...


13th March 2007

Was it a long way to Tipperary? Was it a long way to go?
13th March 2007

Tipperary
Nope, it was a short 1.5 hr drive maybe? I think it would really depend on who was driving...if it was me, i'd be a very slow driver cuz the roads are pretty narrow to me.
18th March 2007

Happy St. Paddy's day....a day late.
Hope all is well...I'm working like a dog (well, not my dog; she's exceptionally lazy). Did you raise a Guinness for me??

Tot: 0.081s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0462s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb