A couple of days rest before on going on the road again sorry Guinness its not your fault, honestly


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Mayo
June 12th 2023
Published: June 12th 2023
Edit Blog Post

Well you have had a couple of days off of my ramblings but to be honest after arriving at Aughris Head which is in County Sligo and on the beach we found a beach bar that had facilities for motorhomes. We thought we would only stay there one night but do you know what we got up on Sunday Morning and thought do we really want to hit the road again or should we stay with a view to the beach with all the facilities such as food and a pint of Guinness - why would you move on! So decision made and two days at the beach bar over looking the beach. We did go for a coastal walk though which was really nice apart from at one stage I was once again hanging off a cliff apart from a barb wire fence which had an electric fence as well which did not give me a lot of confidence. Anyway it appeared it was a part of WW11 lookout posts and a German Ship sank nearby and over 300 bodies were washed up on the shore - that could not have been a pretty sight I am sure.

View from the motorhome beach barView from the motorhome beach barView from the motorhome beach bar

decided to stay another night - could the Guinness have had a say!!!!!


So Monday we decide that we should move on now and we went to Inniscrone as it is famous for seaweed baths and I thought this would be fun to do, sit in a bath of seaweed. Anyway Mike was lucky because it opened around 12 and seeing as we were there at 10 he was not going to wait a couple of hours to sit in a bath of seaweed - so he was secretly pleased. So off on the road we go and found ourselves in Ballina. We park up and the first thing I see is a sign welcoming President Biden - after taking a second look it honestly said welcome - and then the penny dropped, he visited not long ago and came to Ballina as his ancestors were born here. Also Jack Charlton lived here for over 20 years as he loved fishing. We found the weir where the salmon swim up but unfortunately I think it was the wrong season - so instead found a fishmonger who smoked his own salmon so purchased lots of salmon for the next few days. Well I am expecting there to be a banner before I left
BallinaBallinaBallina

Watch out for Welcome Princess Paula sign being up next week
that Princess Paula has been to Ballina, ha ha - do you think I should order one and get it put up, thumbs up for yes thumbs down for no - think there will be more thumbs down than up so hey ho no issue.



So after filling up with provisions we move on to Downpatrick Head - what a spectacle Ireland has, the most fantastic stunning scenery - when you think about it you travel all over the world but don’t know what is on your doorstep. I think getting this motorhome has been one of the best things I have done (well apart from having my son Chris and of course meeting Mike - he reads these blogs so have to say this, ha ha).



It is getting on a bit in the day so we now need to find somewhere to stay. I don’t know if you remember early on in this journey I thought we would be staying at a place called Ballycastle and did not know there were 2 Ballycastles in Ireland, 1 in County Donegal and one in County Mayo. So I looked for Healy’s Bar which I had researched extensively for a place to stay in the beer garden with the motorhome - so we go looking for it and find it and I think I won’t get a job as a researcher as this is crap - so we move on. This time is is getting later and later so I take us to Ceide which is a place to visit and we could have stayed there in a car park - but after the last few nights a car park is not somewhere I wanted to stay especially with the scenery - so back on Park 4 Night App and I find this place which is in between two beaches and the reviews are amazing so I manage to talk Mike into going - all I can tell you is that its location is via What 3 Words (which the emergency services use) powders.giants.scrabbling which is near An Bhinn Bhui so this is the spot for tonight with our own private beach!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.08s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0488s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb