A day in Galway


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
August 27th 2018
Published: August 30th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Happy birthday Mitch!

After a bit of a sleep in, I headed down to the buffet breakfast. Always a bonus when the breakfast is included in your booking! After breakfast I headed out for a walk to Mutton Island. This took me all the way along the canal then along Nimmo's Pier (can you believe that's what it's called!) and then onto Galway Bay. From here I started to walk along the coast when I felt a stinging sensation on the back of my neck. At first I just thought it was nothing but when it continue to get worse, I tried to figure out what it was. I couldn't feel anything but knew that something had stung me. Eventually I felt a bug of some description and quickly threw it away - what was left in my hand though looked like a bee sting. Great! Lucky I'm not allergic to bees but I did keep checking my neck to make sure I wasn't having a reaction. Anyway, long story short - I survived and am now sitting here, days later, typing my blog.

Anyhoooooo... I kept walking along the coast as i wanted to walk out to Mutton Island. There is an 1km road out to the island which can be treacherous at high tide and when the weather is wild. Thankful today it was neither. After walking all the way out I found the gates locked. Shame as there is a historic lighthouse on the island but there is also a sewerage works (they call it the shitehouse at the lighthouse lol) and I think this is the reason the gates are locked. Anyway, it was a good walk and gave me a good view back towards Galway. I decided to head back to the hotel, mainly because I wanted to check the bite on my neck.

I then wandered up the main street again and found a really nice pub/restaurant where I could buy an Irish stew for lunch. Afterwards I wandered around some more, checking out different shops and generally just immersing myself in the atmosphere of this lovely place. I checked out St Nicholas' church, which also had a little market happening outside.

i had dinner in the hotel tonight as the weather wasn't very nice and had started raining. The food was great and I enjoyed watching the game of soccer - Tottenham v Manchester United and texting Alex, as his team is Tottenham and they were winning! In the end the Spurs won 3 to 0 so Alex was a happy man.


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



31st August 2018

Those Irish Bees!
How dare a bee sting you? Don’t Irish bees know the rules? Remember when you used to pat bees?
1st September 2018

Irish bees!
I know right! I have always been kind to bees ?

Tot: 0.26s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0814s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb