Dublin to Galway


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Galway » Galway
August 26th 2018
Published: August 30th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Cormac cooked up a big breakfast for us this morning, which was lovely. Issy had a huge sleep and only woke up around 6am. After breakfast Cormac suggested we try to head into Heuston station as there was a good chance I might not be able to get very close, due to road closures for the Pope's visit. Today the Pope was holding the big mass in Phoenix Park, which is right next to Heuston Station, and they are expecting about 500k people. It was a good suggestion as we indeed were not able to get too close, although Cormac sweet talked a police officer to allow him to get a bit closer than we should have. This meant I had to walk for about 20 minutes but this was fine, as we had allowed enough time.

After saying goodbye to Cormac I made the easy walk to the station with no drama. I then boarded my train to Galway and found my seat and settled in for the 2 1/2 hour trip. I arrived in Galway around 2:15 and walked to my hotel - Jury's Inn. After checking in, I had some soup for lunch in the restaurant downstairs. It's a very nice hotel, right on the banks of the river.

The weather wasn't looking too good - overcast and cold with the potential to rain. I decided to go for a walk to get my bearings - it seems my hotel is in an excellent location as it is right at the start of the Latin Quarter. There is a mall that goes from here all the way to Eyre Park and it is lined with shops, restaurants, cafes and bars. A great atmosphere! After exploring this area I went for a walk along the canal and enjoyed the views of the fast flowing water leading out into Galway Bay. Galway is a very pretty little city.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement



Tot: 0.287s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0815s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb