Canada Day with the Irish


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
July 21st 2006
Published: July 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

01 July 06
I had been so excited for this day to come. Everyone at work knew when Canada Day was. It was even at the point where when I walked into work that morning one of the girls (Irish) wished me a Happy Canada Day. I made sure that I took the night off work and the next day as well.
Jay and I met up when I finished work. We went to my place where we started to put on Canada day tattoos that Mom had sent me. Jirka and Monika (friend from Czech who is here for a few weeks) even joined in! Jay and I went to the hostel for a bit then we had to meet up with Jirka, Kamila and Monika.
It felt weird walking around all excited for Canada Day and to everyone else it was just a normal day. However, we did see some people out on their balcony who had the Canada flag flying and cheering. Once in the car there were many more Canadians. I guess they all tend to form together.
One thing that was pointed out to me that I never realized before was that the majority of Canadians always have the flag (on ex. their bag) to point out the fact that they're Canadian. I had never really thought about it before because that is just what we do, but no other country does this.
There were no fireworks, but it ended up being a good day.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.09s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0176s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb