St Paddy's Day and IrishGood Luck


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin
March 18th 2007
Published: March 18th 2007
Edit Blog Post

St Paddy’s was yesterday as really feeling the effect of the night at the moment, well actually feeling the effects of the whole 5 days I've been here. I have found out it really is true, it is impossible to walk past an Irish pub and not feel the welcome feeling they give out. And with a pub every twenty meters or so can take a long time to get from a to b.
The luck of the Irish has rubbed of on me the past few days I think as well been very lucky with the time I have been here! It started over in London when I was checking in for my flight over here to Dublin and for some reason they couldn't find my ticket on the screen so that was a disaster when it is properly the busiest time in Ireland I'm stranded at the London airport. Lucky enough someone cancelled and I was able to get aboard, but at a cost off $300 AUS though but getting that all back, they found my ticket two days latter!
My next pot of luck would be finding a place to stay over here, I had previously organised a
St Paddy's DaySt Paddy's DaySt Paddy's Day

The best pub in Ireland on St Paddy's day. 30 People And It Is Full But Traditional Isish Pub
place to stay for the six days in Dublin but that got cancelled two weeks ago and could get Monday and Tuesday in a hostel. With every hotel/hostel that I checked, was full for the rest of the week so what do I do? Headed to the pub and watched the cricket and soon enough in a shout with a Aussie guy completely forgetting about the worry’s of where I was going to stay the next few days. He just summed it all up when he said in good old Aussie attitude 'she'll be right mate, it will sort itself out' Funny enough when I went to a computer I had a email from a Brazilian guy saying I could stay at his place for the rest of the week! If any of you think why would someone do that? Well there is a fantastic website called couchsurfing and what the name suggests people from all over the world lend there couch, spare bed or what ever to needy (like me) backpackers. Anyone out there who has a spare couch or something check it out. It is a great way to meet the locals and for the people hosting meeting
St Paddy's DaySt Paddy's DaySt Paddy's Day

This Is Early
people from all over the world. Really saved my ass (and pocket) this site did.
Dublin is a great city, as soon as I got of the plane and breathed the air and I was so happy that it was actually cold! This properly sounds stupid but after India, Egypt and Jordan it was so nice to have fresh air that is so much like home back in Tassie. And it is really cold at the moment, supposed to get some snow tomorrow but that could be nice.
Done a fair bit of touring around the place, trying to understand the Irish accent and having 1 or 7 Guinness. Really like the city with the old buildings and there is history all over the place. Just the old brick buildings and stone paved streets with small allay ways with a pub on each corner is superb. There is a really young population here which is great for someone like me who likes a beer or two. Every pub is always full and people from all over the place have come here mostly though from Eastern Europe I got told because it is the highest paying city in Europe apparently. Been
Christ ChurchChrist ChurchChrist Church

Oldest Building In Dublin
to a few museums and churches and of course the Guinness factory with is huge and the tour is great. I spend around 4 hours walking around the place and it has a great view of the city from the top floor, when it is not foggy. But I have found out that it is really expensive in this place for everything. Especially with the Aussie dollar it quickly disappears so work is really coming into my mind which I'm not looking forward to.
The parade yesterday was everything and more that i expected. The atmosphere was electric, people everywhere, dancers, singers,lots off green the lot and as soon as it finished it was time to hit the pubs. I think we went and checked out around 7 different pubs and the best by far was this tiny little place up an alley way and with 30 people inside it was full. Two old Irish guys in the corner playing traditional Irish music, Guinness with a traditional Irish stew on St Paddy’s day really doesn't get any better. I was with a couple from America who are actually on there honeymoon and really great people. I meet the guy (John)
DublinDublinDublin

The River That Run's Through On A Typical Cold Night
the night before at a pub as his wife (Kari) was sick, so he went out for awhile and ended up getting home pretty late and Kari ended up looking after him.. We had a few by the end of the night and the next day on the way to the parade we bumped into each other again soo the poor honeymooners had me for the day. Naa they didn't mind and was great meeting them, had an absolute ball on St Paddy’s day!
I'm leaving Dublin tomorrow and heading to Killkenny with is more south, about two hours on bus, to see more of the country side which I'm really looking forward to.
So for now I might have to adventure to the local, only because Australia are playing cricket (any excuse will do) and take it easy everyone.
Slugger



Additional photos below
Photos: 33, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

DublinDublin
Dublin

The Spike In The Back Ground Is Huge. No Idea Why It Is There But Can Be Seen From All Over Dublin. Maybe A Guide If Someone Has Had To Many Pints..
Guinness FactoryGuinness Factory
Guinness Factory

Does Taste Better In Ireland
Food Of ChampionsFood Of Champions
Food Of Champions

First Home Cooked Meal In Over A Month, Mum You Should Be So Proud!!
National MuseumNational Museum
National Museum

Snuck This Photo
St Paddy's Day ParadeSt Paddy's Day Parade
St Paddy's Day Parade

As Far As The Eye Can See


19th March 2007

So much to do, so much to see!!
Dearest Slug, its only been a week of not checking your blog and look what i have to catch up on! Incredible! Naturally im jealous as hell as id love to see Ireland...and i will...eventually :) Its on the "to do" list. I am still so happy for you and for the experiences your having. Nothing much to report from my end at the moment, ill have stuff to tell you soon though when i come back from my travels no doubt :) Keep up the great work with your stories and photos...its like we are all there with you! Be as safe as possible whilst you create the mischief i know your making! Lots of love and hugs. Court oxox
19th March 2007

Hi C .C.,
Well C.C.we sure know what your real vocation is,--Journalist and Photographer.Well done mate. Gosh.fancy finding yourself in Dublin on St Patrick's Day.You sure were looking for punishment. No doubt you had a couple test samples of Guiness,It really does taste suberb,over there. Well take care, stay safe, Love Nan and Pop. X X X X
19th March 2007

Hey Slug!! Lovn the Blogs!!! Ireland sounds awesome...1 place i've always wanted to go too...one day maybe!!! Moved into The Villa with Denham and Tommo yesterday, have to train them up again!!!! Na its all good...should be fun!!! Was in the shop on Sun and your mum showed us the thingy u sent them from Eygpt..pretty awesome!! Anyway Slug better go...hope that Irish luck keeps rubbing off on you!! Take Care..Leah
20th March 2007

Made it home
Chris. Sorry we missed you on Sunday the guniess tour took longer to get through than I anticipated. Thanks for sending me a link to your blog Kari and I both look forward to living vicariously (sp?) through it. We wish ya luck on your journeys and hope to see you when you make it to the states.
20th March 2007

dwayne leverock
go to the nearest television for a life changing experience... sounds like your having a good time champy tequila sunrises next week! get on em. catch ya later on christopoher.
21st March 2007

Hello
Hey Slug, Sounds like you enjoyed st patricks day, the parade pictures you took were very impressive! Well keep having fun! Erin :)
21st March 2007

Good on Ya!!
Hey Slug, Sounds like things are going unreal. I been following your blog and some of the stories and the pics are great. India is a pretty wild place. Ireland would of went off for St Paddy's Day would of been a big night and few days i would think. Keep it up and love ya work! Oh yeah Carlton won the NAB cup to u beauty, we are on the up. Sam G.

Tot: 0.128s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 13; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0627s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb