On the Road...or Trail Again


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Dublin » Dublin
April 1st 2017
Published: April 3rd 2017
Edit Blog Post

Kathy and I are Ready to GoKathy and I are Ready to GoKathy and I are Ready to Go

This is the start of our hike. We are always smiling at the start of our hikes. Later on not so much.

After loading our gear into the cab, we headed to start of our hike at Marlay Park in south Dublin. Kathy told me last night that I could only have 33 lbs in my pack. I didn't tell her it weighed 46 lbs at the airport. They took it anyway....I'm glad I didn't have to carry the damn thing. After a cup of coffee and loading our pack into the transfer van, we were off. Did I mention that the forcast call for rain. Our first day was scheduled for 14 miles. We were on the trail at 9:36...exactly. About noonish it started raining and it rained and rained and rained. Apparently Lexington gets about 46 inches of rain as does Ireland. The difference is in Ireland, it rains all the time. We hiked in some of the most gourgeous areas that I have ever seen. I would post some pics but did I tell you I HAVEN'T FIGUIRED OUT HOW YET. But I will.




The Irish people are very hearty. They are outside when the sun is shinning, when its raining, when the wind is blowing and all the while they are enjoying themselves. Our first day of

Trail Along the RiverTrail Along the RiverTrail Along the River

Notice how green the grass is. Everything is so green because it rains all the time.
hiking was a challenge since we haven't found our trail legs yet but we are moving along nicely. We ran into several groups who were interested in knowing how hiking in Ireland was different that the US and we always get questions about Donald Trump.


Most of the hiking is along pasture access roads or old logging roads with very little trail hiking. It is unusual to drop onto an unmaintained trail and when we do, it's a pleasure. The wooded areas are very interesting in that they are unencumbered by undergrowth and appear to be ancient although they probably are not judging from the tree size.




We finally made it to the Coolakay House, a nineteenth century sheep farm. The owner took us into town for dinner. I must say this woman could drive on these narrow 2 lane roads which are about the right size for 2 passing Smart Cars. She drove a Toyota 4runner and needless to say, people were getting out of the way while all the time she is looking at us and telling us how she had made arrangements for the restaurant owner to ferry us back to the B&B.

After a nice dinner at Powerscourt Pub, we headed back to the B&B for some rest.

Advertisement



4th April 2017

Driving
You know Kathy can navigate those roads too. Sounds like the pubs are a hit
6th April 2017

Safe Travels
Russ, I am glad to see you enjoying yourself.

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0751s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb