CELEBRATION!!!!!!!


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
February 5th 2010
Published: February 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

So first off thank you so much to those that commented- it was really nice to hear from you and i hope you continue to!!! and for those that didnt, I hope you still do.

Last night was really cool. Not quite as big or as artsy as i thought it would be but it was pretty cool. i forgot how cool art people are and how much bull shit they can come up with to justify things. I love it!! I miss it!! But also this space was an artist residency spot so that would be an amazing place to possibly go back to some day in the future?? it was this cute little place with an amazing door bell!! and the art was a collection of reconstructed tents from a festival here called oxygen apparently its a little like woodstock?? but ya it wasnt my kind of art but it was a taste of cali and i loved it! and i got back about 9:30 in time to finish my studying!

So my day started with studying as I was still up till about 3am (wasnt the same without moose, tear!). I was amazed though I knew most of the titles and artists so it wasnt that bad. But ya then at around 1:30 my roommate Lara found out she won this fantasy writing award that is apparently a HUGE DEAL!!!! so YAY her!!!!!!!!!!!! she is awesome!!! it was exciting and she was screaming and running all over the apartment. haha but ya so then i had irish this morning and we learned the days of the week, the months and some of the signs. So today is An Aoine (friday), the month is Feabhra (february), and my sign is An Gabhar (capricorn). haha random facts of knowledge! we also learned some essential irish words sugach, ar meisce and ar deargmheisce which mean tipsy, drunk and completely drunk respectively. haha it was fun.

Then I had my test. I was amazed the theatre was packed when normally it is only like 25% full. Anyway the test wasn't that bad, actually it was a lot like home except for less structured. Out of 30 images he picked 6. So in pairs they came on screen and we had to compare them relating them to themes discussed in class for 15 min each. I knew all the titles, authors and dates and was even able to talk about them and felt really good about it. So hopefully the grade will be good. I'm not sure how they grade here so that should be interesting apparently a 70 is an A?? YIKES!!! I'll let you know. and yay i didnt freak out either, my sentiment of just doing what I can and only thinking about the positive stayed in my head from back home. I do actually like studying and taking art history tests, its kind of like a game and at least the memorization part is really fun to get done and think wow I know so much more now. haha sorry NERD MOMENT!!

So ya now I am going to try to figure out what I need to do this weekend to get set up for going to florence next weekend. Just sticking around cork this weekend nothing planned as of yet.

Then at 5 I am going to go to the gym with lara, kasey is at a vball tourney this weekend 😞 yay for her but lonely for lara and i! (oh and I had to make a new notch on my belt, hehe it was a little dangerous! -mom you didnt hear that!!) and then i am heading out tonight with a few friends to celebrate my exam being done. Dont worry I wont go crazy, I have yet to be drunk here! I know you don't believe me, but its true 😊 So dont think I'm going crazy over here! Going to the pub is more like hanging out somewhere than getting completely trashed.

Oh and an irish hoodie is exactly the same as one back home, its just a sweatshirt that has a hood (pa's question) i just need to find one and I don't seem to be able to. I think im going to go try to find an old man hat this weekend. My one hat basically fell apart in the rain and the other is now completely misshapen. So I need to get a sturdy one meant to be in the rain. And I want something strange- ergo an old man hat, I'll take pics when I find it. But ya and a request from my moma: I dont think i have said this yet but, like in paris, they do not have a rule against the dogs doing their business on the sidewalk and the owner picking it up. So here dog shitty is just EVERYWHERE!! and its almost a game to try to avoid it while walking on the footpaths (sidewalks). Its really really gross but then the rain comes or the street sweepers come and it is clean for a few days. im not going to say what should be next, cause i dont want to jinx my luck! but i did step in gum, it was gross but I got it off, no worries! hahah i hope you liked that tidbit! just for you moma!!

i love you all and i hope you all have a great friday!!!! congrats my quarter friends for making it through the week of midterms!!!!

ok toodles!!

Advertisement



5th February 2010

I love you bekahh!!!! I'm glad you did well on ur test! I love hearing from you. Sorry your hat fell apart in he rain:( (was it the blue one me and Macy got you?)
6th February 2010

no actually it was both of the black ones. yours is holding stong!! I love it!!

Tot: 0.045s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0249s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb