Settling in


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
August 25th 2007
Published: August 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

willowwillowwillow

This gorgeous tree greets you as you enter campus from the northeast.
My original plan regarding travelling around the country was to purchase a bicycle and make my way around in that fashion. I'm not so sure that plan is going to work anymore, but it definitely isn't going to deter me from seeing the countryside! I may just do it mostly by bus and on foot instead, due to the fact that bikes are outlandishly expensive here, at least the ones I've seen so far. Also I'm not too sure how well I'd do in any sort of traffic. You wouldn't think that switching the lanes would be that hard to get used to, but there really are more changes than that to take into account and I don't want to put anyone in danger 😊

Anyway, I'm having a wonderful time but am quite ready for classes to start! My 4 week intensive course begins on Monday, after which point I may not be able to update so often. I know that there will be several day trips to various places around the country, and at least one four-day-long trip to...I don't remember where, but somewhere lively and musical, I imagine.

I have become quite familiar with the city's
quadquadquad

View of the west wing of a lovely stone building whose name I cannot recall over the 'main quadrangle.'
layout, at least the central half. I haven't taken a map out with me since Tuesday anyway. Yesterday was the orientation for the intensive programs, quite a long and involved affair with many presenters from different areas of the uni.

I also went out to experience my first pub last night. A rugby(? I think it was rugby) game had just started up when I arrived, so I watched it with the rest of the local crowd - I chose a pub off the beaten path to make sure to be free of most tourists. No worries, made it home safe and sound without running into anything more exciting than a stray dog.

Advertisement



25th August 2007

hey nia
i followed your linkie from the j7 faction, hope you don't mind! i find your blogs fascinating :D anyway if you want a cheap-ish (not new) bike you should try the buy and sell magazine or www.buyandsell.ie i just checked and there's some bikes for sale in cork. i'm sure it'll take you no time at all to get used to cycling in (and out of) the city.

Tot: 0.093s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0395s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb