Day Three


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
August 21st 2007
Published: August 21st 2007
Edit Blog Post

CathedralCathedralCathedral

View from the northwestern corner of the cathedral, don't ask me the name of it.
Today I actually got up the guts to go a little farther away from my apartment. I would say that I traipsed around the SW third of the city for about 3 hours. I had three goals in mind when I set out, which were accomplished in the first 15 minutes: find sugar (something I forgot to purchase yesterday), a headset for my computer (since my bloody bluetooth doesn't seem to want to work properly), and the post office.

To minimize my tourist-y appearance, I wore my run-down shoes, neutral colors, my school bag over my shoulder, and carried my camera in my hand instead of around my neck on a strap. Not sure how well it worked, but since I hardly ever open my mouth, I should be able to blend in. Right?

Anyhow, I twisted my way through the city centre, trying to take different streets than I had before. There were quite a few people playing instruments at intersections. Once girl was playing something from Phantom of the Opera on her flute and two young guys were sitting playing their guitars and every once in a while one of the guys would yell a word...or just make a noise...I couldn't tell what they were going for, at any rate.

After I'd completed my errands, I set out to walk along the southern quay. I like walking along the quayside because the breeze is so nice and there are seagulls hanging about. I just sort of wandered around, at one point turning away from the river into a more residential area. I would say my two favourite things about the afternoon were going to see one of the cathedrals up close and happening upon a perfect reading spot on the college campus by the river. Also, I've discovered that I have very little tolerance for the smell of fresh fish, at least the smell that I got in the market yesterday. I caught a whiff of the same thing during my walk today and it was ALMOST not very pretty.

On the way back to my flat, I popped into a shop for something to drink. ALL sodas, no juice. *sigh* So I grabbed something called "Tanora" that is kind of like Sunkist with a kick. At a whopping 1E for one can. Definitely going to curtail the soda buying from now on!

Advertisement



23rd August 2007

Lucky you
Wish I could be walking around the city of Cork. What an opportunity. Like hearing the detail. Maybe I'll feel like I know the city by the time your 10 months are up. Grandma

Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.043s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0208s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb