Day One


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
August 19th 2007
Published: August 19th 2007
Edit Blog Post

It's a pity that on the first day of one's experience in a faraway country one must be jetlagged. But I push on, brave soul that I am.

I took AA from Minneapolis to Chicago and then to Dublin, where I taxied to the train station and got on to Cork that way.

I have been trying to get myself settled in, but I have still managed to go for a rambling 1/2 hr walk, just trying to get my bearings. One thing I figured out is that most things here are closed on Sundays.

The weather here is much more pleasant than it is in Iowa. I would say that today it's in the lower 60s F, with a nice breeze, especially by the river.

The I like the architectural style, which is mostly tall and tight together 😊 with a variety of paint colors at least where I've been thus far. The stonework along the river is particularly nice, all mossy and weathered. I'm excited to see what the countryside looks like.

My apartment building is right on the river, altough my room faces the inner courtyard instead of being on the quayside.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 12; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0393s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb