Hmph


Advertisement
Ireland's flag
Europe » Ireland » County Cork » Cork
August 26th 2007
Published: August 26th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Secret GardenSecret GardenSecret Garden

As I walked past this entrance, a stream of cool scented air wooshed by me and I felt wrapped up in a fairy tale.
Been wandering around now for upwards of two hours trying to find the bay. A bay. Any body of water larger than a river. The utter lack of streetsigns once one leaves the city proper is making this rather difficult. After a time I had only the general cardinal directions to help me - and once I found myself in suburbia, they were no help at all.

I've plopped down in the 'Douglas Community Park' to enjoy the shade before I try to find my way back to the part of the city I know. Next time I try this, I think I'll just follow the river.

Now this is not to say I'm not enjoying myself - on my walk I got into a richer part of town: all the houses were gated, set back from the street, and actually had driveways and decent-sized lawns! So mysterious and so beautiful.

I've only seen one functional petrol station the whole time I've been here, and it's about four miles away from where I live - gas is $7/gallon, so I don't want to hear any more complaints from you Americans!

**back in my flat**

I've got
Big HouseBig HouseBig House

I almost felt like I was walking down Summit Ave (St Paul, MN) when I hit this stretch of what I'm sure were rich people's homes. Look, they have a driveway, and a real lawn!
a ton of lovely pictures I took today, but unfortunately only one of the usb ports on my computer is functioning, and I need that one for my mouse since my touchpad went all wonky. I'm starting to think that the trip through airport security damaged my laptop, because all these things are going wrong at once.


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Dandy LionsDandy Lions
Dandy Lions

Even they look pretty here!
Trinity BridgeTrinity Bridge
Trinity Bridge

Looking downriver from my favourite pedestrian bridge (thus far).


27th August 2007

Hi, I'm from Cork. Just some advice if you are looking for a harbour... Get a bus from the bus station to Kinsale. It's about 40 minutes away. Nice town on the water. Be sure to walk out the walkway on the east side of the harbour to Charles Fort which you can visit. Have fun! Feel free to email me if you have any questions!

Tot: 0.104s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0476s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb