Heykjavik Everyone


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland
June 23rd 2015
Published: June 23rd 2015
Edit Blog Post

I'm sitting in a book store/coffee shop in the center of downtown Reykjavik listening to Kings of Leon in Icelandic. How did my life come to this? Thanks everyone along the way who has helped me get to this point in my life, and I mean everybody. If I know you or have heard of you, thank you! I'm a full-time musher now. We had a really busy week last week consisting of almost 4 tours a day. I was doing 2 of those tours and for the other 2, I was driving the snowmobile in front of the teams to make the trail. I've made $60 in tips so far! I can't believe I'm actually getting paid to do this. We moved our camp again, about 300meters up the road where their is slightly more snow. That should last about a week and then we might be able to make it further up onto the glacier. Oh yeah, happy summer solstice everyone! This weekend in the city there was a huge summer solstice music festival that I was able to catch the last night of. My boss Siggi drove me from the glacier to the bus terminal outside the city and then I was on my own. I started calling around for a place to stay but this is apparently one of the busiest weekends of the year so finding a room was rather difficult. I eventually did find one and walked about 45 minutes to my room. I am now an expert on Icelandic public transportation but only after that long walk. After settling in, I took a walk around to explore the area and saw some interesting things. There was a lady on the floor of a convenient doing snow angles while a cop stood over her and watched. I really don't know why he didn't stop her, maybe it's a summer solstice thing. Then there was 2 different instances of a lady wearing a bathrobe on the bus. Public transportation isn't much different from the states I guess. The weather this past week has been sooooo nice. It was almost 60 degrees on the glacier this past Saturday and my face got really sunburned, just in time for my mini vacation. I got a haircut today so the tan lines are really showing. I miss the dogs a lot, the ones at the glacier and my dogs at home. It makes me dread having to leave this place for good in August. Caesar got bit in his bum the other day so I got to put staples in and clean him up. It was gross and I'll spare y'all the details since you got through my last post. He has a cone on his head now and is not happy about it. Whenever we walk away he'll do this crying bark sound that is like nails scraping against glass. The worst part is that the cone acts like a megaphone that projects the sound 3x. The other dogs hate him now because he keeps on moving the chain at night since I think he never sleeps. Hammet is also in a cone and he doesn't bark nearly as much. The fault is that he is scared to lie down with the cone on so he didn't sleep for an entire day. We could see he was really tired because his eyes kept closing and then his head would drop down and wake him back up. Now he sleeps sitting down and it's really funny to see. I've determined that Nanook is my spirit animal because he is in almost all of my dreams. I explored the city nightlife last night and it was really fun. I ended up hanging out with some Icelandic kids down by the docks and playing a pick-up game of soccer. I stayed out past midnight and since that's when the busses stop running, I had a long walk back to my room which ended up being really nice. There was a really nice sunset/sunrise over the water. Everyday the sky looks like a picture or maybe it always has but I'm just noticing it now. Either way, I'm really enjoying everything about this place. I know y'all were wondering and the answer is no, I don't have pictures of the puppies. I haven't even seen them in 3 weeks 😞 They're probably so cute right now but when I get pictures I'll be sure to post them. Everyone look at the stars for me tonight because we have none of those here 😊 Frosted Mini Wheats

Advertisement



Tot: 0.245s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.038s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb