Langjökull Shmanjökull


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland
June 30th 2015
Published: June 30th 2015
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone, how are y'all doing? Iceland is pretty awesome. We moved camp on Sunday night and now we are further from civilization and on the glacier Longjökull. It's a little less of a private area. We have cars driving by almost everyday and yesterday we got to watch 4 cars get stuck throughout the day. It's entertaining to say the least. The living conditions have changed just a bit. We have the dogs stationed at the glacier with pinky the van. Two people sleep in pinky and we alternate who does that. The other two sleep in the big red caravan about a ten minute walk from the dogs across so rough(ruff) terrain. The view from the tours now is like a painting from Jesus. I'm telling you that if Buddha came to Iceland, he would meditate here. Starting around 10pm the sky begins to get orange as the sun kisses the horizon. Behind there is a white moon against a blue sky peeking through the rain clouds and the rainbow that it produces. The snow begins to shine orange and the sky directly above is a deep purple. To the east the entire glacier is reflecting the light and to the west, mountain ranges scatter across the horizon as if to try to prick the orange sunset. In the valley below there are snow capped mountains with glittering lakes resting in between. You get the point, it's pretty freakin amazing. I've been doing this thing for the past month called reading. It's a fairly new hobby so I got some popular titles like Grapes of Wrath, the Martian Chronicles and Metaphysics by Aristotle. Grapes of Wrath was a struggle to get through, I kept waiting for something excited to happen but I guess that's not what that book is really about. Martian Chronicles was right up my alley and I really enjoyed that. Unfortunately I didn't realize that I would finish two books in 10 days so I have the last book to last me until August 5th. Everything here at the campsite is turning green and smelling so good. It reminds me of Block Island with the whole vibe of the place. Still haven't played golf but it's on the to-do list. The track that we follow for the tours is a little tougher than its been. Since the entire glacier is slopped and the dogs can't go straight up and straight down, we go along the slope at an angle which causes the sled to slide downhill and for someone my weight, it's difficult to correct when 4 heavy people are on the sled. Guess it's just part of the job. Every morning when I am hiking up to the dogs, I break the crest of the hill halfway up and see the dogs, immediately they all howl as if to welcome me and that's been awesome to be a part of. These dogs all have roles specific to their personalities and actions. Hammet is the lawyer because whenever you yell at another dog, Hammet will howl as if to defend his "client". Moonlight is our watchdog who only watches and doesn't make a sound of someone is coming, that's Aurora's job, to bark if a person comes within 2 miles of the site. And of course, Narnia and Taega's job is to keep us awake at night. All is good in Iceland and if anyone has any book suggestions I'd love to hear them.

Advertisement



1st July 2015

reading
I enjoy resding your blog. Suggestions for your reading: The Great Gatsby and Best American Short Stories, 2015 and GO

Tot: 0.224s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb