What is that Smell?


Advertisement
Iceland's flag
Europe » Iceland » East
June 1st 2015
Published: June 1st 2015
Edit Blog Post

DSCF7173DSCF7173DSCF7173

The morning fordg
Saturday

We woke up and started dressing so that we could head into our next port. I pulled my older jeans out, the ones I had ridden horses in (figured for walking around town they would be ok). As soon as I pull them out, I got this whiff of something that smelled like poop. The whole room smelled of it. I put the pants back up, but the smell lingered. I found something else to wear. Shelly took the hike, I did the guided tour of town, Seydisfjordur. As we started walking the guide mentioned that there was a herring processing plant here and we might smell it occasionally. About 5 minutes later, boom, the same earlier smell. At least I now know it wasn’t my pants. Boy, I’m not sure if I could ever get used to that smell. The tour walked around town we saw the old Norwegian wooden houses, the old church that had been moved and rebuilt 4 times and then we went to the Tech museum. The telegraph line from Europe came here and they had the first telegraph office on the island. This was also the first city to get electric lights. After
DSCN1859DSCN1859DSCN1859

shelly hiking
that I came back to the boat and grabbed my computer to hit the terminal which had high speed internet. I got my blogs posted and caught up on some email.

Shelly had a lovely hike up the a waterfall and got some wonderful pictures of the area.

We then left Seydisfjordur and the ship headed to Eskifjordur. When it arrived, Shelly headed out for a kayak trip with the guide. The guide had never been there before and wanted to scout the area. Since she knew Shelly was a strong kayaker, she invited her along. Shelly said it was one TOUGH kayak trip and that the guide decided next time they would take the kayaks halfway in boats to make it easier on folks. I stayed on board because I have caught a small cold and felt like I was running a low grade fever, plus there didn’t seem to be anything near the ship to walk to. I enjoyed an afternoon of reading.

Dinner was buffet and I headed to bed to read a bit and then crash.


Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

DSCN1882DSCN1882
DSCN1882

from Shelly's kayak
DSCF7129DSCF7129
DSCF7129

flintstone table
DSCF7133DSCF7133
DSCF7133

Blue church
DSCN1887DSCN1887
DSCN1887

birds on the cliff shelly saw from the kayak
DSCN1875DSCN1875
DSCN1875

little houses shelly saw from the kayak
DSCN1852DSCN1852
DSCN1852

snow on the hike
DSCN1839DSCN1839
DSCN1839

view of the city


Tot: 0.047s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0267s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb