Heroes Square -- Hosok Tere


Advertisement
Hungary's flag
Europe » Hungary » Central Hungary » Budapest
March 21st 2007
Published: August 8th 2007
Edit Blog Post


Heroes Square -- Hosok Tere
Europe » Hungary » Budapest By Bill and Nancy
March 21st 2007

Bill & Nancy Lively
Heroes Square
Hannah took us to Heroes Square at the end of a long day of sight seeing. I was fortunate in that the sun was shining and that made taking photographs easier. It was getting late in the day and there were a few people there. The square is big. Nancy noticed that all of the heroes, all 14 of them, lived prior to Columbus discovering the new world in 1492.

The heroes are:

Stephen I of Hungary
Ladislaus I of Hungary
Coloman of Hungary
Andrew II of Hungary
Béla IV of Hungary
Charles I of Hungary
Louis I of Hungary
János Hunyadi
Matthias Corvinus of Hungary
István Bocskay
Gabriel Bethlen
Imre Thököly
Francis II Rákóczi
Lajos Kossuth

I know, I know most of you are like me and have never heard of any of them or if I have I have forgotten about them. They are pretty tough looking fellows, ones I do not believe I would want to anger. Theirs, of course, was a very different world than the one we
Millennium columnMillennium columnMillennium column

The Millennium column is 36 meters high. The Archangel Gabriel stands on the column holding the Holy Crown in his right hand and a double cross in his left.
live in, one of tribal warfare and quick revenge and long memories. The long memories of past ills are still alive and well all over Central
Millennium column
The Millennium column is 36 meters high. The Archangel Gabriel stands on the column holding the Holy Crown in his right hand and a double cross in his left.and Eastern Europe. We were talking about an Eastern European city one day last year and a young Hungarian told us in no uncertain terms, "Yes, that city is really Hungarian, they took it away from us after World War I, but it should be ours!" Such comments have made us wonder if the European Union can survive over the long run.



Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



Tot: 0.109s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 8; qc: 33; dbt: 0.058s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb