Euboea - day 13


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
August 20th 2011
Published: June 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

Geo: 38.3955, 23.9852

so i'm completely and happily brain dead 😊 i've done NOTHING for 6 days and i have a tan to prove it - i'm officially what the greeks call "gypsy coloured"

talking of greeks, they all think i'm weird (unlike everyone else who thinks i'm just peculiar)...they are so stuck on the fact that i am travelling europe ALONE...i got a strange reaction so many times that i had to ask my cousin what it meant, to check whether they thought i was mentally damaged...turns out they feel sorry for me! the chicks simply think, i'd never do that alone, and the dudes can't figure out why i can't find myself a boyfriend to go with (one even offering to 'get me one'😉...seems that independence is a bad trait around here, though come to think of it greek's aren't exactly known for being explorers...i know that my aunt is still waiting for my parents to 'get over it' and come home (they left greece in 1977)...when i try to tell her that's not going to happen she dismisses me like i'm a child, and passive-aggressive IS known to be a greek trait - gollygoshgee i wonder if i'm like that?

Euboea was great...we went exploring for a sand-beach (all beaches are pebbled around here) but it turns out there's nothing in the world like pristine white, fine aussie sand...the stuff they have here is what i'd call 'dirt', so we just stuck to the beach by the house - a whole 100m walk! the town is actually called Akti Nireos (Nero's Beach), a wonderful spot on the globe, i wholly approve

i have the next couple of days in athens to see more relos, then i'm off to Ithaki on monday until the 27th, when the weirdo-solo travelling begins
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ithaca


PICS:
Hadrian's Arch (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Arch_of_Hadrian)
August Moon over Plaka
Elisabet and me


THINGS I HAVEN'T WORN IN 6 DAYS:
-a watch
-a bra
-makeup
-lipstick
-hair products (there is very little humidity here, it's awesome!)
-shoes

FOOD:
there's a dude in canada who is eating the foods of the countries i visit...i already sent him a 'tiropita' recipe, but today's food task is STIFADO...it's not something i'd normally eat but my aunt makes it sooooooo good....add some whole, large peppercorns as well
http://souvlakiforthesoul.com/beef-stifado





Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



19th August 2011

I didn't seem to get the other recipe. BUT we have a multicultural festival here right now, and I'm going back to the greek pavillion tonight to scarf down some more greek food, watch the dancing, etc. when I was there yesterday I entered
a raffle for a trip there. :-p
19th August 2011

I'm here to inform you that the weather has improved significantly. With some luck you'll bring the sunshine with you. Do eet!I'm pretty scared by the braless, shoeless thing though. Oh-oh. You look sooo cheerful though. ;)
20th August 2011

You take THE BEST PICTURES EVER NICKY! I think the best part of any holiday is the non sight seeing and just taking it all in like you live there. xo
20th August 2011

I'm so enjoying this trip with you.I laughed really hard at.. ''get over it and come back home''. Very true!You just be sure to keep well, and carry on having a wonderful time there. By yourself means doing what you want and not having to
compromise.Good on you. Heaps of love.xxx
20th August 2011

Yeah... wellcome to every single (Greek) woman's nightmare.. if you are over 30... with no man in your side (even as a accessory) you are damaged!!! wait till you visit small villages with grannies and grandpas... they will give you THE lec
ture! lolllll!!!Thank you for sharing your trip with us! Some trips are better to have one traveller than two and completely ruined!!! xxx keep having faboulous time and upload more fantastic pics!!!!
22nd August 2011

why am i not surprised about their issues with single women? im waiting to cop it when i get there lol12 DAYS 12 DAYS 12 DAYS
22nd August 2011

aaahhh the face of relaxation, love it xxx
23rd August 2011

Sounds awesome! Tons of people travel alone, I don't get why it's so weird. Anyway, I got your Paris postcard today! Thanks so much! It totally cheered me up! Miss you! Be careful! Much <3
23rd August 2011

I just noticed that all the mails that were supposed to inform me about your updates have been moved to the spam folder by google ... so, I have some catching up to do now.

Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 45; dbt: 0.042s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb