Athens Arrival


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece
November 8th 2010
Published: November 8th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Today I finally left Barcelona after being there for just over two weeks. What was supposed to have been a two day stopover somehow ended up being a two week one. Having stayed up the last couple of nights really late, one night even being until 7:30 in the morning I was feeling very exhausted in the airport and on the plane. I was drifting in and out of sleep everywhere I sat, even at one point thinking my plane had left because I turned around when I woke up and the noticed that the sign at the gate had changed. Luckily it was still there and I could still go to Greece! When I arrived at the airport in Athens which was around 4:30 it was already getting dark. A slight a bummer considering I was hoping I could see some of the city today. The bus took over a hour to get to the main square in town where I was supposed to switch to get to another bus. At the bus stop I met a guy studying in Athens that is from California and he was headed in the same direction as me but on a bus that was not on my directions in printed for the hostel. I jumped on anyway and he gave me a little lesson in the Greek language and pointed out some landmarks. When we got out we were both hungry so I had my first Gyro in Greece and it was amazing, especially since it was getting to dinner time and I never had lunch. To top it off it was only 1.80- euro! He pointed me in the direction of the hostel and feeling confident started walking that way. About 5 minutes in though I realized my directions were from a different starting point and I had no idea where I was except I was on the right street, but the street went pretty far in both directions. After wandering this hilly street which seemed like forever I gave in and asked directions from a girl working at a bakery. Luckily for me she spoke fluent English and knew where I needed to go. It only took a little longer since she walked me to the road and did not want to step on any of the tile cracks, making me think it would be hard to work in a place with cracks everywhere if you didn't want to break your mamas back. So I went the way she pointed and found myself about a block from where I started. I couldn't help but laugh and now I finally knows what it feels like to walk around in circles when you are lost.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.074s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb