Santorini


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean
May 19th 2022
Published: May 19th 2022
Edit Blog Post

KamariKamariKamari

I made it!! Beach is lovely. After I checked in, I walked down to find an empty beach and a local offered to snap the camera. Howling winds made it quite chilly for the locals and incoming tourists.
My ipad broke so I cannot email for now. Yasmine or Sonya, can you let Christian know that I arrived safely?

I am using the computer at my hotel (very nice people) and will try to upload photos. (nope, can't upload photos) There may be few words for now.

I'm here until Thursday, then back to Vienna.

Next day.....I found the only Internet cafe in Fira....MY PEOPLE!!!!! I'll upload photos from yesterday, then post another blog. In some way, having no device is quite liberating. I see, smell and hear all around me, never taking time to communicate with those far away...freeing....


Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

Athens belowAthens below
Athens below

Spent a couple of hours at the airport, tried to access internet...no go...
My room has a balconyMy room has a balcony
My room has a balcony

overlooking a main road, beach is a short walk away.
cheese and olivescheese and olives
cheese and olives

I bought at grocery store...hope to have time to enjoy them here before I go. Below is the restaurant courtyard where I eat my meals.
IndulgenceIndulgence
Indulgence

Imagine a hot beach day here.
shopshop
shop

I bought postcards here.
First mealFirst meal
First meal

A rice dish with fish and veg
viewview
view

View from my balcony, looking away from the beach
CatsCats
Cats

Happy in the grapevines
BeachfrontBeachfront
Beachfront

is overtaken by beautiful bars and cafes that are off limits to non-customers. Every once in awhile there are green public benches (for the locals?)
Morning at the beachMorning at the beach
Morning at the beach

I got up early and had to wait for breakfast at 8:30, so I went to the beach. So lovely!
WavesWaves
Waves

are huge. The Mediterraen sea has its own smell....difficult to describe...it smells old, a bit like wood, maybe like a lake? It does not smell like the Atlantic ocean back home.
TownTown
Town

A dozen restaurants with waiters eager to invite you in, plus tons of shops. Throughout the island there are many outlets to rent cars, scooters, ATVs.
Water streetWater street
Water street

I imagine is the name..


Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 30; dbt: 0.1008s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb