Having a Colossal time in Rhodes


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » South Aegean » Rhodes
July 24th 2006
Published: July 24th 2006
Edit Blog Post

The Sound and Light Show, RhodesThe Sound and Light Show, RhodesThe Sound and Light Show, Rhodes

The castle is lit up while a story is told.
I arrived in Rhodes at 1 am Saturday night, actually that's Sunday morning, without a place to stay. I had slept little on the 12 hour ferry ride from Crete. Imagime this large ferry arrives and hundreds of people are let loose on Rhodes, some of us without places to stay. There were a couple of owners of pensions there. I found a hostel owner who had no beds. Then a man approached me wanting 50 euros a night. I said no. Then I found the owner of Mike's hostel waiting for about 20 young French campers. But he had a single room left, and only 20 euros.

So we all went to his place winding our way through the crowded and cobbled streets. My room was basic, but at that time of night, all I needed was something horizontal to lay on. I liked the 20 year old poster of "New kids on the Block" in my room. But next door was a disco blasting music and shining lights. It was 3 am and the music was still going at full volume, even though the place was nearly empty. But with ear plugs, a little help from Tylenol and utter exhaustion I fell asleep.

The next morning I looked for somewhere else to sleep. I don't mind sharing a bathroom down the hall, I do mind the noise. I found a quiet pension not far away, but at 40 euros, the most expensive place so far. But this is Rhodes. Everything is more expensive here, food, accommodation, internet time.

Rhodes old town is a walled town dating from the 14-15 Century. The Knights of St John built it as a fort. Rhodes is now the largest medieval walled town in Europe, it's several km's around. All the streets are narrow and cobbled, but that doesn't stop the scooter riders from insane speeds. This place seems out of place. Norman / Romanesque architecture but surrounded by palm trees bathed in perpetual sun. It is quite remarkable. In the 1520's the fort was lost to the Turks in a seige led by Suleyman the Magnificent. Now the Europeans are back as mass tourism. The old town is comprised of hotels, pensions, restaurants, discos, cafes and shops, so many shops, and of course those crispy fried Northern Europeans. I'll be here 5 nights.

I toured the Palace of the Grand Masters and the archeological museum. Today, I went to Lindos on the eastern edge of the island to see the Acropolis. Acropolis means "high city". And at the foot of this hill capped by a fort and ruined temple is a white washed small town. Very picturesque. I bought my first souvenier in Lindos, but this happened knowing my days in Greece are numbered. Thursday I will travel to Mamaris, Turkey.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.189s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 27; qc: 127; dbt: 0.1324s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb