a minor part of Asia


Advertisement
Turkey's flag
Middle East » Turkey
July 27th 2006
Published: July 27th 2006
Edit Blog Post

I made it to Turkey this morning. I have made my first few tentative steps on a new continent, Asia. However, this is a minor part of Asia. It is not called Asia Minor anymore, it is Anatolia. I got my visa at the border, no problems, and quıckly got through the border. Except, I want to know why Canadians have to pay more than twice what any other nationality has to pay for a visa, 45 euros for Canadians, and 10 to 20 euros for all other nations. Then I walked to the main harbour and found a place to stay recommended by LP.

Here in Marmaris, there is nothing to do except shop. And the store front touts here are particularly aggresive. I just politely say no thanks and walk away. But all the store owners are my friend. Hello my friend, where are you from, please look in my store, can I give you a haircut. They all want to shake my hand, and show me their store. I did not come to Turkey to buy Gucco sunglasses, Rolax watches, Calvin Klean jeans. Nor did I come to buy leather handbags, football jerseys, T shirts with name brands, glass engagement rings, or fur coats. The answer I gave that received praise from one merchant was when I said I have come to see your beautiful country, not buy lots of things. I just keep on saying no thanks.

Perhaps I should buy that magic flyıng carpet offered to me and get away from here. It seems particularly bad here because it is a day trip from Rhodes and the package tour groups. LP seems to agree. I think I will go for dinner now. I found a place that serves bacon and chip butties and Guinness. I was not sure what to expect when I arrived, I had read that Marmaris is a developed tourist town. That it is. I heard my first Muslim call to Prayer this afternoon while looking at barechested, sunburned and tatooed male Brits walking with their bikini clad wife and child in a stroller.

Marmaris is not the place to see Turkey. Tomorrow I will take the bus to Fethiye.



Advertisement



30th July 2006

Turkish Food
Bacon and chip butties? Sounds like Shirley Valentine has moved from Greece to Turkey! Try the puddings.

Tot: 0.168s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 30; qc: 124; dbt: 0.1261s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb