Greece is the word


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete
July 19th 2006
Published: July 19th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Today I don't have much to add because there was a weather related change to my plans. I am staying another day in Hania, and I had planned to take a boat cruise to the nearby islands. This boat has a glass bottom, and perhaps as they advertised, we would have seen some Aegean Sea fish, turtles, rocks, arthropods etc. But it is very windy and all small boats are staying dockside. The waves are crashing against the breakwater and lighthouse. It's quite dramatic and worth a couple of photographs. There are even some clouds developing up against the mountains behind us. So all I can do is sit and watch the weather.

The Greeks are very friendly people, they work so hard to make us tourists feel welcome. And it never feels disingenous. Sure there are a few annoying touts / pitchmen in front of most restaurants, but they mean well. I found a very nice restaurant away from the harbour in an old 14th Century building, now without a roof. I've dined 'al fresco' every night for two weeks. If you like to shop, the Greece is the word. You can buy any kind of tourist item here: postcards, dirty postcards, replica clay pots, dreamcatchers, beach towels, leather handbags, expensive jewelery, football jerseys, hubbly bubblies, olive oil soap, replica statues of Greek gods and goddesses, marble chess and backgammom sets, T shirts, CD's of Bazouki music, bikinis etc. Anything interesting you want me to bring back?

I changed hotels for my fourth night in Hania. This is the same price but it's a 15 minute walk from the old town centre where everything happens and where I was staying for the previous three nights. This new hotel is much more swanky with a TV that actually has CNN in English. It also includes breakfast all for the same price as the first hotel. I have noticed, but I am not sure yet, that because I am finding hotels on the go, I am paying less per night than if I were to have booked ahead to the same places. These hotel owners would rather take a reduced price than leave a hotel room empty. The Greeks are trying very hard to make us tourists feel welcome. Only one night here, however, as it's time to move on to the eastern part of Crete to get my boat to Rhodes. Let's see what the weather does over the next couple of days.

Advertisement



19th July 2006

Friendly Folk
So true about the friendliness of the Greeks. I remember that. I also couldn't believe how trusting they seemed to be. Many of the souvenirs ( including the expensive jewlery) were out in the streets in front of the shops...often unattended. It made me feel very safe as I strolled the streets of Old Corfu. Too bad about the weather, but a good excuse to have a relaxing day in town. Are you meeting fellow Canadians or do you know where many of the tourists are from? Perhaps on Rhodes you might encounter many Germans and Swiss. My friend's parents and their friends often travel to Rhodes from Switzerland. Always happy to read your blog....

Tot: 0.05s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0222s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb