Vacation Day 19


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete
September 8th 2008
Published: September 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Well today was another low stress day in sunny Crete. I did some laundry (Bill will be so proud) and laid around at the pool.

I spent the day in the sun chatting with a very lovely English gentleman. We talked about everything from American life to politics in the US and abroad. I immediately liked him when he told me that he was sad to hear that Hillary would not be President. He’s a retired gentleman that pretty much just travels around Europe, although he has been to NY a few times. It’s very interesting hearing about American politics and life from someone that doesn’t live there. It seems that we are all very extravagant and we still have the mystic of the land of milk and honey going for us. If only life were that good. I guess one thing our politicians have managed to do is downplay any economic problems to the point of even during problems we live better than most Europeans.

We spent hours talking, sitting in the sun and sipping coffee. Not necessarily an exciting day to read about but very enjoyable to live through.

Oh yeah, I fell asleep under an
By the poolBy the poolBy the pool

yeah, even with all these beaches it's nice to swim in a nice clean pool
olive tree for awhile until olives started falling on me. Fortunately, olives are not apples. I also discovered that you do NOT want to eat olives right off the tree. Even when they are ripe they are extremely bitter and gritty. I’ll stick to getting them in jars.



Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0326s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb