Day 15 Vai Beach + Day 16 Back to Heraklion


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete
July 21st 2023
Published: July 21st 2023
Edit Blog Post

I’ve been so zen in Kavousi I skipped my blog again lol.

Yesterday I drove to Vai beach. Meh. I mean it’s nice but Falasarna ruined the other beaches for me lol.

Vai is unique though in the fact it’s right beside Europe’s largest palm tree forest… so that was cool to drive through on the way in. I spent the morning and early afternoon on a chair under an umbrella, going in and out of the water as one does. Weather was odd though - wildly sunny and windy which made for interesting photos lol.

Actually though the drive was more eventful than the beach itself - it was lovely along the coast (as usual) and then the last 10km or so you head up into a mountain pass of sorts - no guardrails, goats absolutely everywhere LOL I had to stop a few times bc there were so many and they would not budge.

Oh and I saw a GIANT hare this morning… like at first glance I thought it was a fox or dog or something.

After Vai I stopped at Toplou Monastery on the way back. No photos allowed in this one, but I found it quite small compared to the others I’ve seen. Still lovely though! There was an exhibit inside as well but you really need to know Greek to fully get it.

Other than that I soaked up my Airbnb views for another night!

Today was low key as well. I drove back to Heraklion, returned my car, came back to the city and just sort of chilled in the Old Town. I had the absolute et sweetest goodest of good girls join me during my coffee break - this big black floofy dog just wandered over and lay down beside me. Every so often she’d look up or sit up for a moment before flipping back over. Poor sweetie. Honestly had this been my last stop I’d have figured out a way to bring her home - Mishka could have another street dog friend! But alas, I left her behind 😞


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.403s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 9; qc: 43; dbt: 0.1335s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb