Solo Travel Controversy


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Crete » Heraklion » Anissaras
August 16th 2023
Published: August 16th 2023
Edit Blog Post

You may or may not follow the Frugal Expat. Neither do I, but once in a while, something strikes me. Here are some of her controversial opinions about solo travel. See if you agree or not. Make a big deal about every activity This applies to any kind of travel. Some activities and historic sites will underwhelm or feel like a waste of money. It is nevertheless part of the history and culture of the place you are visiting. I cannot imagine choosing root canal or cleaning the toilet as a better alternative. Some places surprise, and some disappoint. It applies to the new restaurant you tried last night, or that highly touted bottle of wine. No need for a budget When I travel solo, or the fabulous Mr. Mike, I (we) never have a budget. When I travel with others, I am respectful of their travel style. My only word of warning here are big drinkers who expect you to pay half! You know who you are! Otherwise, I pick and choose without over thinking it. Meals offer the most flexibility when traveling solo, since you do not have someone else's hunger or dislikes to worry about. It can be unhealthy What an awful and shallow comment. Travel is fun, upbeat, exciting, educational, and a sharp contrast to your everyday activities. And it is empowering to rely only on yourself. No worries, no schedules, no impediments! As the experts says, independence is empowering! I am at my happiest when I travel. Of course, my puppies make me happy too! You don't have to make friends Are you kidding? This is a huge part of my travels. Making friends, even casual friends enrich the trip, provides some feedback from their experiences, and keeps your own travels focused and challenging. I have made friends all over the world, from Penang, Crete, Athens, Lisbon, Bangkok, Bucharest, Russia, Chile, Poland, Cambodia, Santorini, Croatia, Canada, London, Peru, Tokyo, Kuala Lumpur, too many more to mention. And many have come here to the US to visit! Your problems won't disappear I think it clears your mind, and helps create a better perspective on life, people, problems, work, and mostly family. Sometimes it takes being apart that creates the appreciation. Now, if you decide not to come back, then yes, your problems will disappear, but you may create an entirely new set! Anxiety is in your head, relax! Go in with low expectations Total hogwash. Yes, I have been pleasantly surprised over the years, so keep an open mind. Even places like Siberia, Poland, Medellin, and Mexico offer an interesting contrast to our lives here. Rather than judging it as better or worse, why not look at it like an anthropologist or historian? Take a day off This is good advice. Back in my golfing days, we often played two days in a row, with one day off. At a minimum, take an afternoon or evening off from touring and partying. Often times, I will schedule a massage after a workout in the hotel gym. Also, a good book, and a quiet cafe are great therapy. Eat McDonald's NEVER! Starbucks maybe. At least, try to local noodle joint or hot dog emporium. Try something simple, just to stay within the culture of the place you are visiting. Even in Siberia, I enjoyed the boiled potatoes, smoked fish, and gasoline grade vodka. Make your own itinerary Always! I spend a decent amount of time prior to trips, putting together my emails, and doing my research. I tend to focus on just one or two major activities and let the rest fall into place. When I went to a totally foreign place, like Belgrade, Serbia, I decided to highlight the famous Hotel Moskva, and the historic sites downtown and along the Danube. It worked perfectly, and soon morphed into other activities. My other rule is don't over plan! And don't overpack! Anti-hostel As a young traveler, this became a great way to save money and meet other interesting, adventurous travelers. As I have gotten older, I need more privacy, quiet sleep, and less partying. But it sure was fun. In particular, the hostel in Amsterdam stands out as the best, with trips to the kasbahs, red light district, Heineken Brewery, and things I cannot mention. You had to be there! Be prepared Just like a good Scout, always have a backup plan or contingency. Plane and train delays, overbooked hotels, and sudden changes of plan are always challenging. In other words, always have a Plan B! Carry a small amount of first aid supplies. Some extra cash is always handy. And of course, please buy travel insurance. As much as I enjoy solo travel, I am always open to traveling with new people. Most of the time, it works out. Sometimes, you learn some valuable lessons. Rule 1: Never travel with a cheapskate. Rule 2: Always choose someone with similar likes and dislikes. Rule 3: Refer to Rules 1 and 2!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 13; qc: 35; dbt: 0.0896s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb