Greece update


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
June 9th 2006
Published: June 14th 2006
Edit Blog Post

NafplioNafplioNafplio

Old capital of Greece, Venetian city.
I can't load pictures where I am now, but I will later. I got up at nine to go on a walking tour of Athens, a bit pricey at 13 euros, but I really didn't feel like going by myself. I met two nice Aussies and we had a sassy British tourguide. We saw all the main sites- the Acropolis, full of German tourists, the Temple of Zeus, the Agora, it was really great.

After lunch with the tour group I was sad to go off by myself again because I wanted to go to Nafplio in the south. Its amazing how one place can be crawling with tourists and ten minutes later not a word besides Greek is spoken. I got sort of scared and looked like a stupid tourist getting on bus 051 to the Bus Terminal B, where I got on the three hour bus to Nafplio. All the hostels (or private rooms) were full and I was so tired I paid an embarassing amount for a really nice room full of bourgeois americans. It set me back a couple days, I won't repeat that.

The next day I climbed the 900 steps to the top of Palimidi fortress, built by the Venetians. It wasn't as old or as important as the Acropolis, but I liked it more because it was so well preserved, so well perched up in the rocks, and there was less than ten people on it.

After that I went to a tiny beach and went swimming in the Mediterreanean, it was still early and the beach was only inhabited by old Greeks and no one else. I felt a little out of place and was only there maybe 1/2 an hour. I checked out and went to the bus station (not really a station) and again made an ass out of myself as I got confused on where to put my bags. It was still early, around 12:30 so I got on a bus to Mycenae (Mykines in greek,) site of the earliest mainland Greek culture.

Advertisement



11th June 2006

again, don't worry about spending 26 euros
Sounds like you are getting out, doing the right things, picking up travel savoir faire. I don't think there is anything wrong with spending 26 euros for a good tour. Thanks for writing, we are all looking forward to hearing about your travels.
12th June 2006

don't worry about making a fool of yourself, that's how you learn! you are really doing a lot, sounds great! sam is upstairs asleep, he's sick, but I know will add a comment later. we love you!!!!
12th June 2006

I think I figured it out.
I 'm guessing that if someone wants to get more emails they should click on subscribe or I can do that for them. Correctomundo? See, I can speak Eastern European. :)

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0344s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb