Greece Update pt.2


Advertisement
Greece's flag
Europe » Greece » Attica » Athens
June 11th 2006
Published: June 11th 2006
Edit Blog Post

MycenaeMycenaeMycenae

"our house has everything/baths, blah blah... Remember that, those in NW 5?
Before I continue- to answer my father's question about what I am eating, here is my meals that I have bought since London:
Day 1: Airplane breakfast (luxorious), Lunch: bread and hummus Dinner: bread and hummus, pepsi lime
Day 2: Bread, water,

etc. Bread, water, I had some cookies, and I had some yogurt, but mostly bread and water. I bought nutella today though, I am excited. But I don't mind the food, I just think I need to have some fruit but its hard to find.

Oh wait- I did have one good meal with the tour group- mousaka vegetarian for 5 euros, it was really really good. Anyways-


Mykines was very old and also full of tourists that came on nice buses. Those of you in Strickland's class know that this was where the Oresteia took place. After seeing the ruins, I walked back to the main town with my pack about 20 minutes. It was still relatively early, around 2:00 so I wanted to go back to Athens so it would be easier to head north the next day. After asking two people where the train station was, I almost gave up when I found it, very small and deserted until a Greek came by, and said "My friend, we are... working on it and it is closed." So I went to the bus station, again asking two people because it wasn't a bus station, it was a little store run by an old woman. She directed me to a bench on the other side of the street, but I wasn't sure and was shocked when a bus to Athens actually did come to pick me up.

Here's the fun part! Mr. Snyder, you told me it doesn't rain in Greece, but when I got to Athens there was a real storm, with lightning and everything. To get to my hostel, I got on a city bus from the bus station, not knowing where to get off but I found it in Omonia, then I took the metro from Omonia to Syntagma, the main square. It was really pouring when I got out, it was around 6:00 so I decided it can't be far to the hostel (a different one than the first one) and I would walk. I walked the wrong way through the National Gardens, which were deserted with the occasional creepy person, then I came out the wrong end, turned around (by this time I was soaked except I had a poncho, but my pack was soaked and my guidebook with the map is still wet today)
I found the street on the map, but the hostel was off the map and I got hopelessly, irrevocably lost until, after almost giving up, I found the street and got to the hostel! Inside the hostel was a very international crowd, two young Canadians, a German, a Brit, another Canadian from Toronto, three Argentinos and a Spaniard. I surprised myself by actually having a conversation (more listening than speaking) with the latinos. Now that it doesn't matter, after the AP test I spoke the best spanish of my life. We watched the World Cup Argentina vs. Cote d'voire.

Today I got up and took a long bus from Athens to Kalambaka, home of the Meteora rocks. I am a bit blue because I paid too much for this room and I'm not sure how the logistics of my trip to Bulgaria are going to work out, its nothing serious but its just about how many days I will spend in Greece. Please leave comments, I'm lonely! Tommorow is apparently a national holiday so I don't know when I will write again. I'll add pictures later and I miss all of you but I'm having fun (but I've already gone over budget.)

Advertisement



11th June 2006

Don't worry about money
I got your message after sending one. Please do not worry about money. If something costs more than you think it should do not worry about it. YOu are naturally frugal, as am I, but you have plenty of money in the bank and don't worry if some days are more expensive than others. Love, Dad
11th June 2006

It sounds like you're having a really good time. I'm so glad that you have this travel blog so we can all see what you're doing - it's really cool! I look forward to reading more and seeing pictures. Libby
11th June 2006

we miss you david!!
hey David sounds like you are having fun! I would have totally died if I went to Europe without my family. The time Chrisitina and I walked through downtown Munich by ourselves we could barely find our way around or figure out what we were doing, it sounds like you are doing very well! You should really try some baklava (I don't know if that is how you spell it), but since you are in Greece baklava is the food to have (I think)...o well. Well we are sure missing you in AK...we were going to play frisbee yesterday and somebody asked if we remembered to invite you (they forgot you were in Europe). well have tons of fun! I really enjoy reading your journals! When you get to Germany you need to go to some of the bakeries they are tres delicious!
11th June 2006

David! That all sounds so crazy! You seem to be getting lost a lot though mister. But maybe the getting lost is fun too, adds a bit of excitement? It's funny how many Canadians there are, Matthew ran across a lot of Canadians too last summer. Today us physics kids are headed up to Seward to go sailing. It's just not going to be the same at all though without you david! Team RAADS just isn't going to be complete! I miss you. You're doing good though david, i'm sure it will get less lonely soon. You should post some pictures with you in them! Just so we know this bread and water diet is doing okay for you. Love, Angela
12th June 2006

i'm,really excited for you and i'll see you soon. i'm typing this on aunt stewarts cell phone and its hard so i'll stop for now. love you! eti uc,,, 'lsat,íll
12th June 2006

and another thing
one always goes over budget on these trips, don't worry about it! and get a decent meal!
12th June 2006

I love you
David - thanks for all the updates. I'm so proud of you for doing this trip on your own. What an adventure you are having! Stick with it and don't worry about the budget - we can send you some money. Just enjoy yourself, even if it means spending more than you planned. It's not often that this opportunity comes around so PLEASE just spend what you need - we know you aren't frivolous. I love you and miss you. Tonight, dad and I are going to a Hungarian movie. Everyone at school asks about you and I'm forwarding your blogs to Mr. Snyder and others.
12th June 2006

more news
I did the women's run yesterday with Jordan O'Connell and Karla Huntington. It was fun and everyone says hello. They both returned from Europe last month. Jordan was there for 2 or 3 months and loved it. You were right about not taking an ipod - she didn't and didn't miss it. One thing she mentioned and I don't know if you want me to send one with Sam is that she wished she packed a 4 lb. travel tent. It helped out when she couldn't find a cheap hostel. I spoke to Sam today and he is excited about the trip to Europe. He doesn't have internet now so I'm not sure when he'll write. The cats are still lots of fun. They have expanded their diet to include dragonflies and butterflies that foolishly enter our yard. Today, I also found the leaf blower and took immense enjoyment in blowing a ton of leaves into the street. It felt like fall for a little bit. I hope to work on the garden tomorrow but it's raining a little. I need to get ready for the movie but I'll try and write more later. Tomorrow, I start my technology class so I should be more tech saavy when I see you again. Love, mom
12th June 2006

Oh David
Your trouble is that you are not eating enough potatoes. and your are paying for shelter. You have a line to hang clothes on yes? well just hang your pancho over that, weigh downd the ends with rocks, and you have a lovely little tent. Or you could do what people actually do, and instead of catching a train/bus at 2 in the afternoon, get on at midnight, and sleep until you get to your destination, then get up and spend a day without paying for a room. I am really jelous about watching the world cup with the people who actually care. I have woke up really early to watch a couple of games around here, but it is not the same as watching it with latinos. what was your budget per day agian? how much do rooms cost? and how far over are you? I leave for Norway in late July now, so I wont get to see you. Alas. well keep having a good time, and i hope the weather improved Drew
13th June 2006

Came upon your blog
Ya'sou! Originally from Athens, now in NJ. Take a tour to the Corinth Canal and the Rio Bridge. It is amazing over there, tours leave from Athens everyday. And of course, a trip to Greece is not complete without visiting an island. For now I recommend Santorini. You will truly appreciate the tale of Atlantis after seeing the shape of the island. Ships leave from Pireaus everyday. There are ticket booths everywhere for info. Once there, go to one of the camping grounds, and rent a scooter to cruise the island. Don't mind the Greeks (Athenians in particular), they are friendly but act a little intimidating on the outside! Enjoy!
13th June 2006

miss you!
david david david, you sound like you are having so much fun. We missed you so much on the sailing trip, and to compensate for your absence, it rained to match the weather it seems you have been going through. it seems like you are having a blast doing new things: adventuring (its okay to get lost!), meeting new people, and eating foreign food. stay safe! Emily
14th June 2006

Cheap Fun!
Well it doesn't rain on the islands... Stay with bread and water for cheap eats, though you must get souvlaki, gyros, or the Greek salads while there. If you find somewhere cheap stay for a few days and save money. No more hotels, get places early! Hook up with other travelers to bring down the price of a hotel if they are all that is available. I went to Turkey because I was running out of money in Greece...Bulgaria should be cheap too though. Walk every where and don't feel like you have to pay money for every tour and entry fee. Some just are not worth it. The ambience of Europe is as good as the sights. Ask about student rates everywhere you go and every ticket you buy. You will save the most money by staying off the beaten path and staying put for a few days. Watching world cup games in a bar is cheap fun (unless you drink, or drink lots) and something no one does here. Enjoy getting lost, sounds fun to me! Gary Snyder

Tot: 0.295s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 8; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0694s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb