Mannheim


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
July 12th 2017
Published: July 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

After Cologne I headed to Mannheim to check out a university I am interested in. Its called Mannheim University. It has a very good business and economics program. Once I got to Mannheim I quickly settled into my hostel and went to meet a representative of the university who was to talk to me about the school and its programs. The school was quite impressive. The main campus used to be a summer palace for one of Germany´s king so it is quite magnificent. We walked around the campus and talked about mannheim and how it is a labor city. This word was confusing to me but it was later explained to me that labor city means that not a lot of things are going on here. But Mannheim is growing quite fast. It is only one hour away from frankfurt so a lot of people are moving to Mannheim to live so they can work in frankfurt. Also with brexit Frankfurt is going to be the new financial hub which will be moving from London. Because of this there was a lot of construction happening in Mannheim in preparation for the amount of people that will be moving to Fankfurt.

After my meeting with the school representative I started to walk around and discover the city. I was quite tired from all the traveling so i headed to sleep quite early.



The next day I met up with a friend of mine who was working in Mannheim. Julz and I were classmates when I was studying abroad in South Korea. It was realy good to see him after 4 years. He took me around the city and we saw some new places and also went back to the university so he could show me more things. My favourite part of the city is the area they call little istanbul. The area was filled with turkish shisha bars and doner kebab places. They even had a giant banner wishing a turkish soccer player a happy birthday.

Here we had some doner kebabs, drank some strong turkish tea and we headed to the most famous spot in Mannheim. It is called Fontanella! It is an icecream shop but they are known for creating the spagetti ice cream. Its just ice cream that looks like spagetti. It was really good! After an awesome afternoon of exploring the city it was time for me to head out. Next stop was Lindau!


Additional photos below
Photos: 23, Displayed: 23


Advertisement



Tot: 0.248s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0407s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb