Cologne


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
July 12th 2017
Published: July 12th 2017
Edit Blog Post

After camping/Summer Jam I heading to Cologne. I got there around 11 pm but I had my friend Lorenz picking me up from the central train station. I met Lorenz when I was in Argentina. He was my neighbor and closest friends there. His parents insisted in having me over, which was a huge welcome since I had been roughing it in the woods for the past couple of days. I grabbed my bag and we headed to his parents house. After a much needed shower and home cooked dinner we called it a night. The next day began with amazing breakfast, met with a friend of Lorenz (Paul) and began our day exploring Cologne. I was so greatful to have Lorenz and Paul because he took me to places I would not have seen if I was by myself.

Ofcourse we began our day by going to the Cathedral. I was in awe of this beautiful place. It just makes you wonder the amount of work that went into it and at a time where we didn’t have the technologies of today. We made a round the cathedral and took some group pictures.

Right behind the cathedral was also a really cool chalk art show. a lot of talented people were creating some masterpieces. I took a couple of pictures here and we started walking around the city.

Cologne is beautiful and quite diverse. The shopping district, like everywhere else was packed but I just wanted to see the sights. So we headed towards the Rhine river. It was quite a busy river. There were tanker boats going up and down it, and lorenz told me the river starts in switzerland and goes through a coupe countries into the North Sea. Thus it is a very important river that helps move goods through these landlocked countries.

We sat by the river and had a beer and enjoyed the warm weather. After that we headed to the Hohenzollern bridge. This is the bridge that has all these love locks put by couples. I believe the original idea came from paris. There are quite a lot of lockes here. There is a sign that says do not put lockes here but no one seemed to care. We walked up and down the bridge and at the end of the bridge we saw some locals rock climbing. I really like to rock climb so I just hung around and saw a few climbs. I really apreciated the use of a side bridge for something different.

After this we headed to grab some food. Lorenz told me of a burger joint that had won a competition for their burgers. The place was called Die Fette Kuh! The place was incredible. After a great meal we headed towards the chocolate museum. Unfortunetelly by the time we got there it was time to close. However the lady in the front desk told us to head to the roof top and there is a great view of the river and city. So we did that and watched the sun setting. Then we headed back home, I packed my stuff and off to Mannheim.


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



Tot: 0.297s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0349s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb