Lindau


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
July 14th 2017
Published: July 14th 2017
Edit Blog Post

After Mannheim I headed down South to a small town called Lindau. Lindau is located in the south part of Bavaria and part of the city is located on an island on Lake Constance. It took me about 9 hours to get here but it was completely worth it. The island is surrounded by beautiful mountains and snow melting from these mountains fills the lake. You can see both Austria and Switzerland. The water is so clear and really cold. But it was a hot day so it was refreshing jumping in for a few minutes.

The first thing I did when I got there was grab some food at one of the restaurants facing the harbor. It was quite amazing and quite pricy. But worth it! Then it was time to explore the city. I first walked to the famous harbor entrance which is marked by the Bavarian lion and on the other is of a white lighthouse. They are quite amazing especially when you get closer to them.

After a few minutes of walking around the statues I decided to walk around through the historic buildings because it was getting really hot. I really like the streets of Lindau. They are tiny and ever so winding. I really liked walked around and looking around the shops. But the heat was getting stronger so I decided to take a break at the park. After a quick dip in the water and a nice nap it was time to find some more food and head to my hotel. The hotel was quite nice but quite pricy. There was a wine festival happening that weekend so all the hostels were booked. After check in and settling in I decided to see the rest of the island. Night time was quite interesting. There were people everywhere in the center and by the harbor. But it felt more like a couples island. So I just grabbed a beer one of the bars and called it a night to prepare for the wine festival.

The wine festival was cool but the best thing I found was a fake beach that was set up just for the wine festival. I met some cool people here. They were a couple Jenney and mike and jenney's brother who was also called Mike. They were from Bregenz. Austria, an hour or so away from Lindau. But it was also right across the Lake! They were there because their car broke down and had to stay in Lindau. Later that night they were heading to Austria. They asked me if I have ever been to Austria but I said I didn’t really plan to be in Austria. They were shocked that I was so close to Austria and would not be going. The whole afternoon we hung at the fake beach and swam a bunch. At the end they asked me if I wanted to go to Bregenz with them. They said I could stay with them for a night or two so that they can show me a bit of Austria. It was quite an opportunity so I decided to join them.

The rest of the day we hit some spots at the wine festival, saw some live bands and ate some amazing street food.

I cancelled my ticket to munich and headed to Austria with my new friends. I loved my time in Lindau because of its beauty but also for meeting these amazing people.


Additional photos below
Photos: 46, Displayed: 24


Advertisement



Tot: 0.292s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0411s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb