Sunday 31st July - Home again, home again, jiggity jig!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
July 31st 2011
Published: August 5th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 5Photo 5Photo 5

Our final self-timer photo with the German rental car
Last night it was agreed that we would meet in the recpetion area at 7.30am to pay and leave. Steve and I arrived at 7.28am and loaded our backs into the car, went back to reception... no Nicole. I knew which room she was in so I went down there and knocked... no sound. I knocked harder and longer... there were some noise and out comes Nicole with the duvet wrapped around her... I had woken her up! I had her ready to leave within 5 minutes!
The drive back to Cologne was rather un-eventful! We went back to Cologne because we read (after leaving Cologne) that there was a Chocolate Museum and we wanted to see it. We walked into the factory part of the museum and I almost died... the smell of the chocolate hit me and it was SOOOOO good! It really takes a long time to make chocolate but after sampling some of it I think it is well worth it! When we bought our tickets we were given a small chocolate to eat and as we walked through the factory we saw the process for making them. At the end we went to the shop and
Photo 4Photo 4Photo 4

Steve's new travelling companion - Cheeselington
buy something for us and a thank-you present for Aunty Margareth and Uncle Albert for having us... We got them some truffles to share then I saw it... a present very suitable and funny to give Aunty Margareth... a chocolate pair of false teeth! They looked very real! Then we found some chocolate tools for Uncle Albert (He is a very clever handyman!). Lucky Aunty Margareth saw the funny side of the chocolate teeth when we gave them to her that night... I was a bit worried we were going to be kicked out so I blamed Steve for choosing them... even though he didn't even make it into the shop!
Uncle Albert came and picked us up from Lingen after returning our car and we headed 'home'.
Steve had a nice suprise waiting for him when he got home... A travelling companion! Aunty Margareth thought that Steve felt left out since Nicole has Alivn and I have Egglington so she bought Steve a mouse and named him Cheeselington! It was very funny!
Martin, Lisette and very cute little Fiene came around for a BBQ tea (I can definitely tell that Aunty Margareth and Mum come from the same family...
DSC01209DSC01209DSC01209

Me holding Fiene (my cousin's baby)
apparently Aunty Margareth thought she was feeding an army!)... It was nice to catch up with Martin and Lisette again and I even got to hold Fiene... and no she didn't cry, I even have the photos to prove it! We got some photos with Martin, Lisette and Fiene before they left too.
We are off to Amsterdam tomorrow... and early so time for bed!
Xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

DSC01217DSC01217
DSC01217

Steve, Me, Nicole, Martin, Fiene and Lisette


Tot: 0.305s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 6; qc: 46; dbt: 0.1077s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb