Wednesday 28th July – 'Trips' in more ways than one!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
July 28th 2011
Published: July 27th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Photo 2Photo 2Photo 2

The Padlock Bridge
We were up at 8am and packed up our stuff again! We checked out at about10.00 and headed out, poor Steve has learned that Nicole and I do not like to be talked to before 10ish and MUST eat breakfast or will be even more grumpy then usual (it's a Dirkze thing apparently!). We headed into Köln/Cologne to look around. The streets around the cities are super narrow and people seem to park where ever they feel like it (on the footpath and in the middle of a lane of the road!). We looked in a few shops but there was nothing too exciting. After wandering around the water front we were welcomed into a cafe by an old man waiter who was trying to get people to come in. After a massive meal we walked over a bridge which I have lavbelled the 'Padlock Bridge' – it was really cool! I reckon there would have been about a million padlocks with names of couples on them. We think they put them on there when they get married but it was a super long bridge with 1.5m high barriers covered in padlocks! After that we went up to their Dom (Church)...
Photo 3Photo 3Photo 3

Steve (Behind is the Padlock Bridge and Koln's Cathedral)
I now understand Monique and Daniel when they say 'when you have seen one, you've seen them all! On our way back I was walking down the stairs infront of Steve and Nicole, I heard a funny noise then the lady walking the other way gasped... I turned around to see Nicole had fallen down the stairs! Whoops!
Now off to Frankfurt, traffic is terrible, we were driving about 50 down the motorway! Nicole has been renamed as Limpy as she is quite sore. Steve and I headed into Frankfurt tonight to go and see them Romer (another church) and to look around. As we stepped out the car we got to experience and thunder and lightning show... quite loud and scary but I have now learned my lesson to ALWAYS carry a jacket with me!!!!!
Subway for tea and now off for an early night!
Love to everyone xx


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Photo 4Photo 4
Photo 4

Me being artsy-fartsy and practising the technique Daniel showed me!


Tot: 0.435s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 49; dbt: 0.0562s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb