En Berlin


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
September 18th 2007
Published: September 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Frankfurt to Berlin


So, let me tell you--I am having so much fun. The train ride from Brussels to Frankfurt was scenic as was Frankfurt to Brussels--so much green! I met a lady on the train from Brussels who is 68 years old and travelling by herself. She was so cool. She was actually born in Germany and moved to the states in her early 20's. She lives in CT and has three grandkids. I had a 1st class cabin all to myself, so she joined me. It turns out she had a 5 hour layover in Frankfurt before her night train to Vienna. So after checking into my cute little single hotel room, where she parked her bag, we headed out. We had cappucino--something I find myself doing a couple times a day. Good thing I picked up that coffee habit while I was in Iraq, huh? There is not too much in Frankfurt actually, plus the rain has started. It is still raining today. I hope it is not here to stay. Last time I was in Europe, it rained everyday for 13 days! So, we had dinner at a cool German restuarant, then had a drink in my hotel before she headed off. What a nice evening. She spoke fluent German, too of course.

I am now in Berlin staying in a hostel. I walked around town not having a clue where to wander. I came upon some parts of the Wall so that was neat. I am doing to do the touristy big yellow double decker bus tour tomorrow to see all the major sights--crazy, so unlike me to do the tour bus. But, I want to see it all and I only have a day. Plus, if the rain stays, I will not want to hoof it everywhere. So, tonight I had a great dinner and sat with another American girl from LA. We had dinner and great dessert and wine! Then, I took the subway back to my room in the youth hostel. It is not so bad, it is a single and I do have a bathroom and shower! That's all I need. I am going to have a drink in the bar here and head to bed to get an early start for my bus tour. I am taking an overnight from Berlin to Munich tomorrow night. It costs 30€ extra to get a sleeper
Julie and ChristaJulie and ChristaJulie and Christa

I met her on the train
- cheaper than any hotel. Then I wake up and I am in another city! Nice! I am getting on a train in Munich to go to Garmisch. Christa told me to check it out. Have to trust someone who has lived in Germany for 20 years and has been back to Europe atleast 10 times since, right?


Additional photos below
Photos: 24, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Me standing by wallMe standing by wall
Me standing by wall

this was painted..i thought it was neat
Girl I met from LAGirl I met from LA
Girl I met from LA

I met her in Berlin and we had dinner and great wine
In front of Berlin train stationIn front of Berlin train station
In front of Berlin train station

this is a brand new station
KaDaWe-largest dept storein GEKaDaWe-largest dept storein GE
KaDaWe-largest dept storein GE

Loved this place!! Check out this floor--they had EVERYTHING!!
Statue Statue
Statue

Represent three wars won
Hotel BerlinHotel Berlin
Hotel Berlin

This hotel started the rebuilding of Berlin after 80% of city destroyed from WW II
Sign at Checkpoint CharlieSign at Checkpoint Charlie
Sign at Checkpoint Charlie

Named after the third phoenetic letter in military.
Checkpoint CharlieCheckpoint Charlie
Checkpoint Charlie

Place where American GI's cross to East Berlin
Through the WallThrough the Wall
Through the Wall

Picture of wall graffiti
Where wall once stoodWhere wall once stood
Where wall once stood

Near Checkpoint Charlie
CharlottenburgCharlottenburg
Charlottenburg

Pretty streets in Charlottenburg-now a part of Berlin
Bright Yellow HouseBright Yellow House
Bright Yellow House

On a beautiful street in Charlottenburg
German ParliamentGerman Parliament
German Parliament

Right near sunset-reflection of red skies in window
Standing on both sides of wallStanding on both sides of wall
Standing on both sides of wall

where the wall seperated East and West Berlin, near the river. At times, the wall intersected through subways and rivers


21st September 2007

Friends everywhere
No wonder we are friends- we are so alike, although I aspire to have your independence sometimes- you are a true inspiration to me Jules, I'm glad you are having so much fun! By the time you return I will be settled here and we will have a blast catching up- I love your stories! you are an amazing photographer as well! Love ya," Me
23rd September 2007

Vaca
Thanks for reading my blog!! We HAVE to come back to Europe for a trip...I love it here...Salzburg is so beautiful. So, I think I will stay another day! Getting closer to Italy!

Tot: 0.051s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 8; qc: 26; dbt: 0.0293s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb