Pictures


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Bavaria » Garmisch-Partenkirchen
September 20th 2007
Published: September 20th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Total Distance: 0 miles / 0 kmMouse: 0,0

Midnight train to Garmisch

I took an overnight train to arrive in Munich at 0643 to catch the 0730 train to Garmisch. The got my room ready so I could shower and start my day here...sweet!!

View from HotelView from HotelView from Hotel

Pretty sweet View from my private balcony
Just a quick update. I will write more details later. It may be awhile before I can upload pictures. A lot of the Internet cafes don't give access to a computer-just a screen with the Internet. So that sucks. I have been taking them like crazy. Berlin was so fun...i saw so many things. I like that city. There is such a mix of different cultures and architecture to create a city that is alive with history and new modern hopes. Now, I am relaxing in Garmisch! What an amazingly beautiful town. It literally takes your breath away. It puts Colorado to shame. Actually, it is like a mix of the Rocky mountains and the Smoky mountains, which high snow-capped peaks with rolling green hills and trees. It is like Colorado meets Tennessee with a dash of Vermont in there. All of that with beautiful churches and German cottages scattering the hillside. There is not much to do here besides outdoors stuff and catch the amazing views. BUt, I think that is exactly what I need for a couple days. I have already walked so much of Garmisch and Partenkirchen and even hiked a little. My hotel is gorgeous with a
Same ViewSame ViewSame View

It is just so awesome and pictures do it no justice
great view of the tallest peak in Germany, Zugspitze. I can not wait for you all to see the pictures.

Ha ha. They are playing Air Supply on the radio in this cafe. Just a side note. Okay, well, I will be here for a couple days before I head to Salzburg! More beauty. It is so hard to take it all in! Every corner is another picturesque view! Other than that, I met someone from Munich on the train. He was my "bunkmate" on the overnight train. He lives in Munich and I will probably catch up with him on the way back through Munich for the Oktoberfest! Cool! I have only been 10 days and have done so much!! Cheers!


Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement

Another view of the mountainsAnother view of the mountains
Another view of the mountains

I took lots of pics..so beautiful!!
A peak peeking outA peak peeking out
A peak peeking out

More fall colors beginning-couldn't have picked a better time!!
Postcard picture form hillsidePostcard picture form hillside
Postcard picture form hillside

in Partenkirchen--great colors!!
A church hidden in th hillsA church hidden in th hills
A church hidden in th hills

Saw this from the road, found it on hike...St Anton.
Religious Display on hikeReligious Display on hike
Religious Display on hike

this was near the church in the mountains
View of St Anton in the hillsView of St Anton in the hills
View of St Anton in the hills

This is a monestary and dedication to those who have died in wars, especuially WWII. Built in 1708.


21st September 2007

Ah Garmisch!
I can't believe you are there! Isn't it just beautiful!!! I was there in March- stayed at the US base resort Eidelweiss. The Alps are amazing there, the town is clean and cozy. Life is so good there! I didn't know it was on your route :) I'm jealous! Love, Me
27th September 2007

WOW
Julie, after hearing about and seeing the pictures from Germany and that area I really want to go there. Next time I go to Europe that is where I'm going. Looks like you are having a gret time. Love Mom
16th October 2007

Nice!
Nice pictures Julie! Looks like you've been to some incredible places! Much better than Wyoming right now. ;) Be safe!

Tot: 0.362s; Tpl: 0.02s; cc: 6; qc: 47; dbt: 0.0604s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb