Day 1: And we're off!


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany
July 11th 2018
Published: July 12th 2018
Edit Blog Post

Day 1: And we're off!

Short and sweet today: I've finally managed to convince Mom to join me on one of my adventures, so we decided a Baltic cruise was in order. As you all know by now, I'm not content with a 10-day Europe trip, so instead of starting the cruise in Copenhagen (where they usually start), we start in Warnemunde which gives up the chance to visit Berlin first - Mom wanted to see Germany, so perfect fit. And I mean, is it really a trip to Europe without an Icelandic layover on the way home..?

Flight over was uneventful - we had about 50min layover in Iceland, just enough time to clear customs and get my fix of Skyr before boarding for Berlin. We arrived beyond exhausted... but you can't sleep, so we charged ahead to Alexanderplatz and basically did the public transit equivalent of the Hop on Hop Off bus. Bus 100/200 gives you a great overview of the city, driving along most of the main tourist area and Tiergarten (the giant park + zoo in the city). While doing all that, I was on the hunt for interesting graffiti/stickers as per usual. For supper I introduced Mom to currywurst (YUM) and that was pretty much that since we were both exhausted by that point. (Like, when we got back to the hotel, I told Mom what we were doing tomorrow and in doing so I told her about the horrors of the Gazpacho... ahem clearly cold veg soup = German secret police)


Additional photos below
Photos: 7, Displayed: 7


Advertisement



Tot: 0.412s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 7; qc: 47; dbt: 0.1431s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb