Weimar, Orgins of German Democracy


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Thuringia » Weimar
July 4th 2014
Published: July 5th 2014
Edit Blog Post

WielandstraßeWielandstraßeWielandstraße

There was also a Wieland Platz and a Wieland Cafe as well
It seemes everytime I get oriented with a city I have to leave, Dresden was fun but off from the ruins of the 3rd Reich to the start of democracy of the short lived Weimar Republic. The city is very quaint and quite fun to travel, my hostel is near the Goethe Platz and everything is right by me which is nice! I find myself getting lost in the downtown area here, though small the streets are windey and around each corner seems to be a small market square, beer garden, statuee or museum. My goal was to get acquainted to the city, see Goethes and Schillers house and watch Germany move on in the world cup.

I ended up watching the world cup at a bier garden with an Irish lady who was also a starting to teach with a doctorate in German literature. She was the first other German teacher I have met so far, small world?! Germany kept us all on the edge of our seats the game with an early score, but they move on and will probably play Brazil on Tuesday at 22.00.

I found out too that Buchenwald is nearby and plan to check that out tomorrow, Buchenwald was an early internmant camp mostly for political enimies of the 3rd Reich and was a harsh labor camp, I believe they produced mutions and bricks as well, but I will learn more tomorrow!

Bis bald!


Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement

biergardenbiergarden
biergarden

really crowded, a lot of people made reservations


Tot: 0.084s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0556s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb