Happy Thanksgiving


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate
November 13th 2014
Published: November 25th 2014
Edit Blog Post

I am in Cologne, Germany. left Iran a few days ago. It was a good few weeks there. Although I travelled around and to some northern provinces in Iran, surprisingly enough, I haven't had much motivation to write about anything. My visit there coincided with the Moslem religious month of 'Moharam' and my dislike of religion and it's rituals chipped away from my motivation to write much. On the way to Germany, I spent a day in Rome and a day in Amsterdam.

It is getting close to Thanksgiving Day. This old American tradition has always resonated with me more than other Holidays. As a tradition when my children where younger, around the Thanksgiving dinner, everyone shared what he or she was Thankful for in life? After a couple of months of being on the road, I am happy and ready to be back at home in Bay Area for Thanksgiving.

If you are getting this message, you are a part of my life and I am interested in hearing what you may be particularly thankful for in your life this year. If you like to share.

This is what I am Thankful for this year :
my bus ride to the Caspian Seamy bus ride to the Caspian Seamy bus ride to the Caspian Sea

herd of sheep crossing the country road

I am Thankful for my physical ability and good health and capability to travel and move around on the Earth.

I am Thankful that, as much as Iran is my mother-land and is so vast and beautiful, I don't have to live in it.

I am Thankful for having Martine at my side, someone I know I can always count on.

I am Thankful for all of my good friends all over the world, particularly my wonderful hiking friends at home in California's Bay Area. Each and everyone of them teach me and show me a different perspective on life.

And perhaps most importantly, I am Thankful for having my wonderful daughter Michele, my grandchildren Lili and Luca and my son-in-law Francesco in my life.

I am Thankful for having my honorary grandkids, Delphine and Pheobe.

Happy Thanksgiving to all of you.


Additional photos below
Photos: 26, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Specialty food of northern provincesSpecialty food of northern provinces
Specialty food of northern provinces

Turshi Tareh, Mirza Ghasemi and Baghala Ghategh
With my sister Rozita in Bonn, GermanyWith my sister Rozita in Bonn, Germany
With my sister Rozita in Bonn, Germany

We set to experience a day in the forest and Fall season photography.


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 54; dbt: 0.0443s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.4mb