Honky Tonk Trier


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Trier
November 7th 2005
Published: November 7th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Another great weekend in Trier. Sat. was a great day. Matt came over and we made tortillas together. It was a lot of fun. Matt even managed to roll one into the shape of Germany (not on purpose) and another one into kinda of the shape of Africa. It was quite entertaining. I have pictures, but don't have enough time right now to load the pics. (I have class in a bit). I'll try to get them up this week though. After we were done making em, we made ourselves some quesadillas...mmmmmm... soooo good.

Sat. night Matt and I went into town for Honky Tonk Trier. There were 16 different bands that were playing at different bars in town. (they were all within walking distance) At the bus station we ran into Dennis and Manolo. (Dennis is from Italy and Manolo is from Spain). Matt and I first went to Hauptmann's and listened to a cuban group. They were awesome. It was probably my favorite group of the whole night. The atmosphere in the bar was perfect to. It was a little more upscale (probably not one I would normally go to). It was fun to just relax and enjoy the music and watch people dance. =) We were probably there for a good hour or so. After that Dennis joined up with us and we went to Telekom Keller where a Tex-Mex group played. Their music was more alternative. The members of the band were from Peru, Mexico and some other Latin American countries I didn't catch. They were fun to listen to, but being down in a cellar kinda stunk. After that we continued on to Coyote Cafe. The group there played Soul, Funk and Blues. It was fun to listen to. After we went there we headed off to TUFA to listen to Reggae music. Unfortunately what our plan didn't say was that they were already done playing. So, when we got there there was one guy on stage playing rock songs on his electric guitar. He wasn't very good. But I felt bad for him. The group that was supposed to follow the reggae group was still getting ready, so as a favor to the group this guy was playing solo while they got ready. After he was done singing a song, one of the guys in the crowd (obviously drunk) went up to the mic and told the guy that the irish pub was further away. I felt bad, cause it takes a lot of courage to play solo infront of a large crowd, especially when you weren't planning to in the first place. Finally the other band was ready and we had no idea what kind of music they were going to play. Unfortunately it was really bad rock music. Needless to say Matt, Dennis and I didn't stay long. When we left our ears were ringing 'cause the music and been sooooo loud. My ears really hurt and I can't even say it was worth it. The group really did stink. Oh well. We then went to a couple other places where DJs were playing. We couldn't stay long 'cause we had to watch the time. We then took the last bus at 2 back to campus. It was a fun night. I really enjoyed listening to the differnt groups. If you're interested in looking at the link you can to here: Honky Tonk Trier I do have to warn you though, it's in German.

Yesterday, Matt, Dennis and Jaime came over to my place for lunch. My chorizo was a hit =) It was nice to sit around talking. It's so much nicer to eat with friends than to eat alone. After they left I put my room back together (when people come over I have to rearrange my desk, 'cause it becomes my table and I have to use my bed for extra seating as I only have 2 chairs). I then went outside to do some reading. It was such a gorgeous day. I sat by the pond next to my apartment complex. It was so peaceful. I just sat for a while watching the ducks swim, listening to the birds and the little waterfall. What a relaxing afternoon. Unfortuneately it was also a bit chilly so I only stayed out there for an hour or so. I spent the rest of the day dsoing hw.... it takes me quite a while to read my poli sci articles in German. I'm hoping that as the semester goes on it'll be easier. We'll see.

It's time for me to head off to class now. I have my first real class for German Politcal System today. Should be interesting to see how it goes. Hope you all have a great day! Miss you! (ps. I would love to hear from you, so feel free to leave me a message or send me an e-mail) Tschüß

Advertisement



Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0396s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb