Friday Update


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Trier
November 5th 2005
Published: November 5th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Pretty good day yesterday. Didn't do a whole lot besides read and study, but ehh... that's the way school goes. It's really nice having a long weekend though 'cause nothing feels rushed. I found out my results from my placement exam... I placed in the intermediate level instead of advanced like I had hoped for. Oh well, after the exam I had pretty much figured that that's what I would place in. It's not bad either. Luckily I wasn't planning on taking any courses that are only available to students that placed in the advanced level. The course I'm taking, Academic Writing, has two sessions available, one for intermediate and one for advanced, so it all works out. I was a little dissapointed when i found out, but it was a written exam and my writing really isn't all that great and I'm ok with that. Can't be great at all of it and considering that I only starting learning German 4 years ago I shouldn't expect myself to be a master of the language. Anyway, that was kind of a bummer, but that's ok. I'm over it =)

Last night was fun. I talked to my grandma before I went out (her 75th b-day was yesterday... so did Nora) =) It was great to get to talk with her. Then at 8 I met up with Matt and Jaime. We took the bus into the city for dinner. We ate at 'Louisiana', ahhh.. the food is sooo good there. The music was also quite a bit better than last time. Although about half way through our meal the DJ started playing 'Schlager' songs (they're songs that are normally played at folk festivals). I could sing along with most of them which is kinda sad, but it was also soooo funny =). After dinner we decided to head to a bar for a couple drinks. We went to Woodstock first (which is normally supposed to have live music)... the place was pretty much dead though, so we left without ordering drinks and when to Coyote something (don't remember the entire name). I really liked the atmosphere there. I also had my first Long Island Iced Tea. It was pretty good =) It was so much fun to hang out with Jaime and Matt. We always have a good time. Jaime was very intertaining. Almost the entire night we talked in German but when she talked she'd pop in English words or phrases with out even noticing it. It was great. While we were at Coyote she asked if it would be ok if she switched to English, cause she was kinda tired and when she gets tired it's harder for her to speak in German (she of course asked this in German). Both Matt and I said that would be fine, we didn't care either way. Then Jaime continued in German, 'ok, I really want to speak in German but it gets hard sometimes'. Matt and I started to laugh 'cause she had actually wanted to start talking in English but stuck with German without really thinking about it. She then continued in German, 'Ok, I really need to say this in English......' What she said after that was still in German. lol... (ok, maybe this is one of those things where you really had to be there but it really was hilarious) =) We eventually did switch over to English and talked politics and so forth. It was so much fun. It's great to talk politics with people that aren't just regurgitation what they hear on the news or from friends, but rather what they've really thought about and seen. Anyways, I'm kinda wierd like that. We finally headed back to campus around 1:30 or so. It was a good night.

Today Matt and I (and maybe Jaime) are going to make tortillas =) Matt wants to learn so I told him next time I wanted to make some, we could make em together. I want to have some so I can eat em with my homemade chorizo tomorrow.... yummm.. (I hope). This evening in town is 'Honky Tonk Trier'. Yeah, I know it sounds like its something with country music, but its not. There are going to be different bands playing at a bunch of different bars and clubs tonight. The bands range from pop music, R&B to Rock. It should be a blast just walking around town from bar to bar and enjoying the live music. I'm really really looking forward to it. I'll try to take some pics and get them up. (although I had planned to add some pics today, but for some reason they won't load on the comp. I'll have to try a different computer on Mon.)

I should run now. Gotta clean up a bit so we have a place to make the tortillas. I hope you're all doing well.. Miss you! Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 64; dbt: 0.0901s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb