Word of the Wise


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » Rhineland-Palatinate » Trier
November 4th 2005
Published: November 4th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday was overall a very nice day. Didn't have any classes. =) I planned to do some cooking, cleaning and of course hw and studying. I most all of that, maybe not as much as I planned, but ehh.. that's what I have today for. =) Anyway.. yesterday while I was online I wrote down a recipe I found for chorizo. I was so excited and of course had to make it yesterday. (It'll be ready on Sun, so I'll let you know how it turned out on Mon.) A really good lesson that I learned though while making it: After handling peppers (even dried) DO NOT touch your face at all. At the same time I was making the chorizo, I was also making myself lunch (mmmm...sloppy joes) and mixed the meat and of course forgot that I had just put chili's in the chorizo. I then scratched my nose or something like that... anyway I touched my face and POOF! it lit on fire. Hurt sooooo bad. I washed my hands and then used them to rub cold water on my face. I must've still had some of the spice on my hands cause instead of just one spot near my nose burning, that whole area from my nose to right below my eyes was on fire. It was horrible. I had no idea how to make it go away. Eventually I stood under a freezing cold shower and let the water run over my face. I almost called my mom to ask her what to do 'cause it seriously burned for like a half hour. Needless to say I'm never going to touch my face when cooking with chili's again... I'm gonna start wearing a mask or something.... lol... oh what a horrible feeling to have your face on fire. Oh well, you live and learn

The rest of the day was much better. =) I got a job yesterday! =) So it's only one hour a week, but it 15€ an hour and all I have to do is hold a conversation in English. lol There was a sign here on campus from someone looking for a native English speaker to help him improve his conversational English, so I called the number and met with the guy yesterday. He's from Spain and works with AOL in Luxembourg. It's quite an international group that works there. He said his technical English is good, but holding a conversation about anything else in English is tough, so he wants practice. He's a nice guy. The job's not hard (since I don't have to prepare anything) and it'll put some extra spending money in my pocket, and it's flexible which is a major plus.

I also found out yesterday that I'll be leaving for Kenya on Feb. 4th from London. I called Mama and Papa to let them know, 'cause we were thinking that Marina and I might be able to find a cheap ticket and fly over together and spend a few days in London. Mama and Papa said that Basti may come too. =) That would be awesome to spend a few days in London just the 3 of us! Hopefully that'll work out.

I'm gonna get going for now. Got some hw to get done online. I also want to head over soon and check out how I did on the placement exam on Mon. Kinda nervous about seeing my score. Wish me luck. Have a great day! Ciao!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.068s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0336s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb