Das Phantom der Oper


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Stockum
February 1st 2006
Published: February 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hey everyone,
Just got back from Essen. Went with Mama, Papa, and Marina to watch The Phantom of the Opera (theater production, not the movie). It was sooooooo good. It was neat too, to hear it all in German instead of English. What a great night it was. I love the music and seeing it live was definitely a different experience than watching the movie. (Although the movie is also very good, so I would recommend watching it if you haven't)
Other than tonight I haven't been up to much except getting ready to leave for Kenya. As you can see I'm moved back up to Stockum. Fri. night (my last night in Trier) I made dinner for friends. It was nice spending the last night with them just kicking back... It was a fun and relaxing night. Got some pics I'll be putting up tomorrow or Fri. Couldn't stay out too late cause I still had to clean my apartment.
On Sat. Papa came and picked me up a little after 9. Everything was packed and cleaned so all we had to do was load it in the car and we were off. It was nice to come home. =) I've been doing a lot of relaxing and getting ready. Been working a lot on my swahili the bast few days. Getting pretty nervous but also excited. Tomorrow I get to work on packing again and putting away stuff I'm leaving here while in Kenya. I've been meaning to do it all week, but have been putting it off. Not looking forward to packing, unpacking, repacking, and so on until everything fits in my big backpack. Got lots of things (most of which are not clothes) that have to fit in that backpack and at the moment not all if it does, so I'm going to have to get creative and possibly a bit more frugal (ex. take only 4 t-shirts instead of the 5 I currently have packed). This is definetly going to be a lesson in how to do without things that you don't absolutely positively need. Somehow it will all fit, I'm just not looking forward to figuring out how. Oh well... I'm gonna head off to bed now. I promise to write again before Sat. I miss you all very much. night


ps Here's my address in Kenya:

Rachel Buhr
c/o SIT Kenya: Swahili Studies & Coastal Cultures
P.O. Box 41656
Mombasa, Kenya

I'd love to get letters from you all.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.15s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 67; dbt: 0.0818s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb