Wunderschoene Weihnachten


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Stockum
December 28th 2005
Published: December 28th 2005
Edit Blog Post

What a great Christmas this has been =) I missed everyone back home, but it was also nice to get to spend Christmas with family over here again. Of course in true German style, there was a lot of celebrating.

24th:Christmas Eve
The day was pretty relaxing. Just kicked back and didn't do much. Around 5 Anna, Maike and Oma came over and we opened presents. There were so many under the tree! Got some really nice stuff. Oh yeah, the Christmas tree had candles on it. =) I love that. hehe... the tree looks so pretty with candles. It just means you have to be extra careful. After presents we all went to Christina and Juergen's (Mama's sister and brother-in-law) for dinner. It's tradition that the Christmas Eve dinner is Fondue. mmmmmm.... so good. It's also quite relaxing. Just sitting around the table, enjoying each other's company. There was sooo much food and it was all delicious. After dinner we exchanged gifts. We passed a die around the table and whoever rolled a six got their gift. Johanna and I both ended up having one another. I got her a diary. She got me a beautiful necklace. After we all opened our gifts we played another game. Oma read off descriptions of a fairy tale (but the descriptions were quite cryptic). Whoever guessed the name correctly got to pull out a gift from the pile in the middle. Marina helped me with one so that I could get a gift (most of the fairy tales I had never heard of). It was quite fun. A got an apron and oven mitt with World Cup deco on it (The World cup games are going to be in Germany in June). After that we all sat around and hung out. =) It's always fun to spend time with the Neuhaus family =) =)

25th: 1st Christmas Day
Another relaxing day. We ate lunch at Oma's (Mama's mom) with the family. Yummy yummy food. We had a delicious soup (unfortunately I don't know what it's called) with little meatball like things, egg, coliflower, and little square noodles. mmmmm.... the main dish was a pot roast type thing, also very good. For dessert we had Herrens Creme (Men's Cream). I know it doesn't sound all that good, but it's absolutely to die for. It's made from vanilla pudding, chocolate shavings and then whipped cream is folded into it. We also had another dessert, but I don't know what it's called. On the bottom were raspberries, slightly frozen and in a sauce, then vanilla ice cream and on top whipped cream with a bit of brown sugar sprinkled over it. aaaahhhh... it was soooooooooooo delicious.
In the afternoon we went to Oma Imgard's (Papa's mom) in Sundern. There we had coffee and cake with the family and hung out for a while. Then we opened gifts. Of course went along with it. =) We played Sharades. Whoever guessed the word correctly got to open a present and then they were next. Was quite enjoyable, but again difficult for me. But was very enjoyable. Was another very good day =)

26th: 2nd Christmas Day
Yep, 2 Christmas day's in Germany =). It snowed, so I did have a white Christmas!! hehe Mama and Papa left for Spain early in the morning. Marina and I spent most of the day relaxing. (Gotta love holidays) =) In the evening Marina and I went to the birthday party of one of her friends in Allendorf. That was fun although I didn't know most of the people there. Around 10 or so we walked to the Christmas ball (also in Allendorf). That was sooooooo much fun. I got to see a lot of friends that I hadn't seen in a year. At 12 we wished Katrin a happy birthday =) She was a little suprised. Barbara had made her a gift, but it was out in her car, so we all went out with em to see her open it. And just word of the wise, party clothes and snow do not mix. I was freezing my but off! It was worth it though. Barbara had made her a periodic table, but with pictures in most of the slots. For example, for C she had a picture of Caro. It was such a nice gift. None of us stayed very long though cause it was quite cold, so we all booked it back to the party. I also danced the fox trot with Dom. =) It was great. hehe... was lots of fun. Marina left at 12:30, 'cause her bus left for her ski vacation at 1am. She's now skiiing in the Alps... how fun! Wish I could've gone with, but it would've been too expensive. Oh well... I'm sure she's having a blast =) The only bad thing about the party was the smoke. It was awful inside. As soon as we walked in my eyes started burning (usually I'm fine around smoke, but this was bad). The next day my throught felt a little raw from the smoke. It was felt as if I had smoked myslef. Yuck!!! needless to say I also smelled like smoke. I hate that. But oh well, not much I can do about that. Juli and I stayed till around 2 then walked to her place (I spent the night there). Another good Christmas day =)


I had a great Christmas! I felt so much a part of the family. I missed home and of course was homesick, but I still loved being here. I really do have two wonderful families. It feels so nice to know that this is home too. =) I hope you all had a good Christmas. I miss you! Tschuess!







Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement



27th June 2006

blue
hello ı love germans how are you

Tot: 0.192s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 13; qc: 68; dbt: 0.0892s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb