This town is so boring. A rant about nothing.


Advertisement
Germany's flag
Europe » Germany » North Rhine-Westphalia » Bonn
May 10th 2006
Published: May 10th 2006
Edit Blog Post

My Awesome homemade lunchMy Awesome homemade lunchMy Awesome homemade lunch

Pasta with mushrooms, leeks, and onions.
Full of retirees, retirement homes, pollen, and not much of anything else.

There's really not much to report; being a booooring town begets boring blog entries.


I ate a couple of falafels (2.50 and 2.60 euros each), had a few kinder buenos (almost my favorite candy bar), and I spent two hours today walking to and returning from the grocery store. I made myself lunch with the food that I hauled home, and then I read up on German grammar.


And of course I can find things to complain about, even if-when a town is boring.

I am getting rather annoyed at the over-friendly attempts of some of the folks here to acknowledge me, in what they believe to be 'my native language'. Wtf, several times now I have been walking around, getting into a store, sitting on a park bench talking on my cellphone, and someone would yell out to me

(pardon my bad spelling)


"ko nee chi wah!"

or

"knee how ma?!"

I mean, what should I do in situations like that, be glad they chose to acknowledge my Asian-ness and smile and say ko-nee-chi-wah back? I
View from the top of the Bad Godesberg CastleView from the top of the Bad Godesberg CastleView from the top of the Bad Godesberg Castle

You can see most of Bonn from up there.
don't know about the Japanese greeting, but I don't ever recall a Chinese person (in Taiwan or the US) ever greeting me with knee-how-ma. That's such a stupid saying, only retardo white* folks who asked their Chinese friends to teach them how to say 'how are you' in Chinese would say it.

And on two of the occasions the greeting yellers had been men of Middle Eastern origin, I don't know exactly where, but I doubt they would've appreciated my attempt at greeting them had I yelled back


Allah Akbar!!


So that's my mini rant. I hate lame people.


*turns out you don't have to be a retardo white guy to say knee how ma, you can be any kind of retardo!




Additional photos below
Photos: 4, Displayed: 4


Advertisement

Parking SignParking Sign
Parking Sign

Looks like they also park on the curb here...
Where I liveWhere I live
Where I live

The upper right window is mine. I share a room with a 19 y.o. girl who's eyes just about popped out today when she found out how *OLD* I am.


Tot: 0.079s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0559s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb